Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-23-2007, 05:39 PM   #1

New RV and unsure about a few things

Hello,
I recently purchased a Sunseeker 3100 LE and I am new to RV-ing. I have read through the manuals but the lack of pictures or diagrams has left me feeling a little uncertain. Hopefully, you can help a newbie out?
1. The connection to the left of the connection labled "City Water", is this the connection to fill the fresh water tank?
2. I have a monitor panel and at the bottom there are two switches, one labeled "pump" (water pump) the other says "htr" seems like heater to me but I can't imagine what heater it could be. I have an Arctic Pack which has it's own switch, the furnace has it's own switch, and the hot water heater has it's own switch... so, what does "htr" do?

That's it for now. Thanks in advance for any information!!
k9menace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 06:04 PM   #2

The city water connection is the one to allow you to hook directly to the water connection at the campground or at home. It will not fill your tank but will provide water to you without using the tank. The tank filler tube should be close by and probably has a white cap covering it. You just insert the end of your hose in that to fill the fresh tank.

The monitor panel marked "htr" may be the switch for the gas side of our water heater. Most RV's today have DSI water heaters, which is Direct Spark Ignition. They are also usually both gas and electric. On my Flagstaff the inside switch is to start the gas side of the water heater. There is a switch outside on the water heater itself to turn on the electric side of the heater. Be sure there is water in the tank before turning on either of these or you will ruin the heater. If that is not it, perhaps you have heated holding tanks.

Hokiehall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 06:09 PM   #3