Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2011, 09:38 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
No power to Satellite Antenna question

Recently my Winegard 3500a auto sat antenna has stopped working. It appears to be a power issue; the lighted single pole switch that turns it on/off does not light. I pulled the switch and tested it for continuity - works fine. I then replaced the switch to be sure (only $4) and the new one also failed to light.

Rather than go off half cocked, and to make sure I am not overlooking something easy, I was wondering if there is a list of protocols for checking power to the unit. I assume my next few steps are checking for blown fuses (just the box under the rear bed?), checking connections (to the antenna, Dishnetwork box, tv), ect.?

Any suggestions would be apreciated.
Thanks,
Tim
__________________

__________________
tmulreany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 09:52 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
i have the winguard carry out. power is supplied by a cigarette ligher connection. sense i ran mine streight off the bat w/cord, i put an inline fuse there. there may also be one in the end of the cigarette lighter plug. if it unscrews, u will probably find one behind the center contact. believe it is 5 amp.
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 10:13 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Thanks Jim. My unit is hard wired, so I'll have to start opening panels.
__________________
tmulreany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 10:42 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
when u said u had a switch, i was afraid of that.
hope is isn't difficult to find.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 11:21 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
another thought, if the switch is easy to remove, check the voltage between the contacts and ground and see if u have voltage. could tell if the problem is before or after the switch.
__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 08:38 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
The switch checks out OK.
I pulled the roof dome and checked the fuse in the electronics with a meter - OK.
I checked the fuses under the hood - OK.
I checked the fuses in the back of the RV - OK.

Switch still won't light, and no power to roof unit.

Maybe a disconnected wire? Or a bad unit? Not sure how I can check if the unit is no good.
__________________
tmulreany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2011, 12:29 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
jimh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Charles, La.
Posts: 1,531
i was talking abt checking and see if u have voltage to the switch. if u don't it has to be between the battery and there. i would put a voltmeter prob between each of the switch contacts and a ground.

like trouble shooting an electronic circuit. keep dividing the distance until u narrow down the area of the problem.
__________________

__________________
jimh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34 PM.