Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2015, 03:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
Satellite hook up

2015 Forester 3011
Found what appears to be a satellite cable port on the right side of roof over cab. Haven't removed this small black cap get. Is there a cable terminal there that leads into the coach or just a hole to install one?
Can't locate were it enters coach either.
Thanks,
Ed
__________________

__________________
tech ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2015, 04:15 PM   #2
Class C Representative
 
Joshua Cavitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: In a van down by the river
Posts: 605
The COAX will be in a little white box that the cover flips up on. This coax will go directly into your coach to hook up to your receiver.
__________________

__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Profile comments or Private Message, my inbox fills up too quickly. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only (VIN, Contact info or things you do not want the public to see).
Joshua Cavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 01:02 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 12
Satellite TV hook up

I have a 2015 3011DS. Behind my inside TV there is a white box where the 12 volt power supply plugs in. Also on the white box is a button that switches my system from antenna to cable. If I get a satellite Dish will the receiver hook up to the cable connections behind my TV and will the satellite dish hook directly to the outside cable connection or do I have to run a separate cable from the receiver to the Satellite?
__________________
gamidon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 02:49 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3
My understanding of the white box is that it will allow the signal of park cable or satellite to pass through. However, if the button is pushed (green light on) this will activate the amplifier for over the air TV signal and interrupt the signal of the cable or satellite, so leave it off. You should be able to connect your satellite to the outside connection. The receiver would be connected between the white box and your TV. Good luck!
__________________
tech ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 03:03 PM   #5
Pickin' & Campin'
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 5,009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamidon View Post
I have a 2015 3011DS. Behind my inside TV there is a white box where the 12 volt power supply plugs in. Also on the white box is a button that switches my system from antenna to cable. If I get a satellite Dish will the receiver hook up to the cable connections behind my TV and will the satellite dish hook directly to the outside cable connection or do I have to run a separate cable from the receiver to the Satellite?
Do you have two outside connections? (cable & satellite)
If you have only one outside connection marked cable it may or may not work.
For sure you are going to want the the power to the amp off like described above but if there are any splitters in the line that feed another location then no, you will need to run a separate cable from the dish. Sat boxes pass voltage between the receiver and the dish via the cable and do not work with common cable splitters.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.
Days Camped: '15=22 '16=46 '17=30
5picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 03:19 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 12
satellite tv

Thanks for both of your replies. I only have one cable connection that supplies 3 TV's.I am meeting with a satellite supplier next week and hopefully will find out if the cable connection works. I will post my results.
__________________
gamidon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 03:58 PM   #7
Member
 
khocke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Midland Park, NJ
Posts: 97
tech ed & gamidon: if you have the opportunity to post up a pic of that rooftop cable pass-through port would you please?
I'm currently using a 3-way Winegard cable cover up there (TV, mobile phone booster & WiFi) but am always looking at other options, including marine deck passthroughs, for all these cables and such, possibly solar some day. I'm curious to see what the factory is using nowadays.
__________________
==================
2015 Sunseeker MBS 2400R
khocke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 04:24 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 12
satellite tv

Happy to send pic, not sure how to attach to this thread.
__________________

__________________
gamidon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.