Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2013, 02:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 34
satellite hookup 2131DS

Does anyone know where the connection is to hook up a 2011 2131DS. My cable hookup near the power cord says "Park cable" and the connector on the exterior radio panel near the door says "Ant". I am looking at a dish system with a portable satellite unit.
__________________

__________________
lkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 03:16 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
tell me more i have a 2014 8329ssdiamond that i just finished setting up directv separate feeds for the living room and bedroom mine has a sallite hook up and cable hook up by the power cord
__________________

__________________
catbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 03:19 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 34
Nothing more to tell. Mine has no sat designated connection.
__________________
lkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 03:36 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Lkin, on units with only a single coax input, that input is normally wired to the back of the antenna booster control plate. It looks something like this:

Name:   image-1428226601.jpg
Views: 119
Size:  16.4 KB

It's the "Cable In" in this picture:
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2048517831.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	44.0 KB
ID:	41522

In order to use it with Satellite, you have to disconnect it from the plate (which contains a splitter) and wire it directly to the back of your Sat receiver.

Our Library contains a method that one person used to do this: http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...?do=file&id=97

If your Sat receiver has a modulator (coax) output, you can also distribute the signal to other TVs at the booster control plate. This diagram gives you the idea:
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1859555479.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	16.0 KB
ID:	41523
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 03:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
One more thing. It's probably right on a 2011, but: get to the coax at one end or the other and look for markings printed or embossed on the outside. It should indicate a "3000 MHz" or "3.0 GHz" frequency range on the cable. If it doesn't have that, it may not work with Satellite.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 04:35 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Chrisbrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Atlanta / Kennesaw
Posts: 164
Send a message via Skype™ to Chrisbrock
Ditch the Satellite idea and just use Apple's tv's ($99)

I have found that you get way more reliability using a Apple TV. You can also watch your programming while on the road. I use my mobile hot spot from At&t to provide signal
__________________
Christopher Brock
2014 Sunseeker 3170ds
2012 Honda Odyssey
2003 Hummer H2
2003 IS300
Chrisbrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 04:38 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 34
Thanks for the replies.
2 questions
First, why cant i just hook up the sat receiver box to the existing connection, the only change being the satellite dish is hooked into the jack?
Second, if i have to rewire, i am foregoing any future cable hook up without wiring it back?
Thanks,
Larry
__________________
lkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 04:39 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 34
What are apple tvS?
__________________
lkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 05:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Chrisbrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Atlanta / Kennesaw
Posts: 164
Send a message via Skype™ to Chrisbrock
Here is a link to what I use. I have one of them on all 5 tv's in my RV. Unlike Satellite TV your guests can watch the Apple TV while riding down the road.

Apple TV - Buy Apple TV with 1080p HD - Apple Store (U.S.)
__________________
Christopher Brock
2014 Sunseeker 3170ds
2012 Honda Odyssey
2003 Hummer H2
2003 IS300
Chrisbrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 05:04 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkin View Post
Thanks for the replies. 2 questions First, why cant i just hook up the sat receiver box to the existing connection, the only change being the satellite dish is hooked into the jack? Second, if i have to rewire, i am foregoing any future cable hook up without wiring it back? Thanks, Larry
Because the "existing connection" has a splitter in it to provide signal to the outlet on the front of the plate as well as to the "Set 2" outlet on the back of the plate for secondary TVs. You can't have these splitters between the dish and the receiver.

Yes, you have to rewire to get Cable to work. The plate modification instructions I gave a link for allow you to do that rewiring just by installing a jumper. You could also possibly do it with an AB Switch but I haven't verified that it works to have one of those in the dish-to-receiver line myself yet.
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.