Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-24-2015, 04:00 PM   #11
MC9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 194
What you get is an OBD thing that plugs into the port under the left side of the dash. Plug it in and follow the instructions. It removes and stores the existing program and installs the new one from 5-Star. It nearly halved my time from 0-60 mph. I think that is some of the reason my mileage isn't to good...
__________________

__________________
MC9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 04:27 PM   #12
Tinkerer and Putterer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 334
The new tuners come with this monitor that you can mount on your dash.

SCT Livewire TS

You can adjust the settings that show but basically it streams the data that is coming in to the ECM in human readable output. Now what all of that data is I don't know exactly but you should get RPM patterns, sensor readings, vehicle average speed etc.
__________________

__________________
HappyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 04:31 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
JimOneil43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC9 View Post
What you get is an OBD thing that plugs into the port under the left side of the dash. Plug it in and follow the instructions. It removes and stores the existing program and installs the new one from 5-Star. It nearly halved my time from 0-60 mph. I think that is some of the reason my mileage isn't to good...
What information does the monitor display show? Is there any way to adjust the tuning to suit the driving and road conditions?
Thanks for you help
__________________
Retired and loving it...Can't wait to get back on the road!
2017 Forester 3051S ("Farley")
Born April 18, 2016
Toad: 2014 Honda CR-V AWD
GO DUCKS !!
Jim & Diana (and 3 cats)
JimOneil43 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 07:24 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
ourflat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Pikeville NC
Posts: 321
Yep, once the file checksum is altered in the ECM it can never be restored but you can reload the original file downloaded with the tuner. Every time I take my RV into Ford they are always reflashing my ECM with a new update. The shifting seems to get better and better, even gas mileage improves. We even tried to get the ECM to see my new factory electronic brake controller but there is a limitation in our electronic dashboard. I installed a Scantool II last year and use it to monitor the engine/transmission data from the ECM/PCM.


Frank
__________________
Frank
2016 Days Camping so Far: 24
2013 3051S Forester
2013 Elantra GT (Toad)
WashU EMBA "39
ourflat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 09:17 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,254
Ourflat/Frank

What year is your Ford? Is it an E450?

I cannot get my ScanGauge II to give transmission temperature on our 2010 E450. What codes do you have entered to get Trans temperature?
__________________
RamblerGuy
2011 Sunseeker 3100
1997 Pathfinder Toad
RamblerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 09:22 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
ourflat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Pikeville NC
Posts: 321
Yes, it is an E450, 6.8l. I'm sorry but I'll need to look tomorrow for you.

Frank


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
Frank
2016 Days Camping so Far: 24
2013 3051S Forester
2013 Elantra GT (Toad)
WashU EMBA "39
ourflat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 09:57 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
ourflat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Pikeville NC
Posts: 321
Your 2010 E450 uses the CANSF protocol for X-Guage commands. Below is the link for the command codes:


Transmission Fluid Temperature: 07E0221674 046205160674 3010 000100080000 TFT Degrees Fahrenheit


The website is:


Ford/Lincoln/Mercury Specific : Linear Logic : Home of the ScanGauge




Hope this helps,
Frank
__________________
Frank
2016 Days Camping so Far: 24
2013 3051S Forester
2013 Elantra GT (Toad)
WashU EMBA "39
ourflat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 05:53 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,254
Thanks, ourflat. I tried codes listed on ScanGauge's website. I'm obviously not entering something correctly. I'll try again.
__________________
RamblerGuy
2011 Sunseeker 3100
1997 Pathfinder Toad
RamblerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 05:54 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,254
Ourflat, year model is your E450?
__________________
RamblerGuy
2011 Sunseeker 3100
1997 Pathfinder Toad
RamblerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 07:42 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
ourflat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Pikeville NC
Posts: 321
Don't be afraid to call their customer support folks too!

Cheers,
Frank


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
Frank
2016 Days Camping so Far: 24
2013 3051S Forester
2013 Elantra GT (Toad)
WashU EMBA "39
ourflat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.