Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2015, 08:33 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Forester Fred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: On the road between New Hampshire and Florida
Posts: 371
TV antenna questions

Hello fellow FROGgers....it's official, I picked up my Forester 2301 today and it's sitting in my driveway. The dealer did a good job with the pre delivery inspection and explained everything really well. The coach has a King Jack tv antenna, not the old style crank up one that I had on my old camper. It's the digital antenna that stays up all the time (low profile). When the dealer did the walk through with me he showed me the on/off switch on the interior part of the antenna and told me that I had to turn the antenna on to use it. Well, when I got home I fired up the front TV and switched on the antenna....nothing happened. I had the TV do a scan for channels (after making sure the TV setting was on "air" instead of "cable". Still nothing. There are LED lights on the interior antenna mechanism but I didn't see them come on.

I found where the TV is plugged in to power and the antenna inside the cabinet over the door. But, there's also another TV cable plate that has 3 connections with a jumper cable between 2 of them. What's up with that? Do I need to switch the cable from one position to another to use the antenna? I didn't know if the antenna received power through the TV cable or not. Nothing in the literature explained any of it. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here's a photo of the inside antenna portion. (I checked on the roof and didn't see any power cables or connections up there for the antenna.)



Here's the wall jack with the 3 connections and jumper cable.

__________________

__________________
Forester Fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 08:47 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Forester Fred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: On the road between New Hampshire and Florida
Posts: 371
Just thought of something. The coach has a second TV in the bedroom - would that be the reason for the jumper cable?
__________________

__________________
Forester Fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 09:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Forester Fred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: On the road between New Hampshire and Florida
Posts: 371
OK, just answered my own question. Went to the King website and saw that they were showing a power switch on the plate that the antenna connects to. I didn't notice this switch until I looked at the photo above - the one that shows the 12v plug for the TV in the white plate and the brown plate with the 3 connectors and the jumper.

I just pushed in that little hidden button and everything came to life. I now have an operational antenna.

But, the question regarding the 3 connections and the jumper cable still stands. Do I need to change where the cable is attached when hooking up to cable TV in a campground?
__________________
Forester Fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 09:49 PM   #4
Member
 
jaibyrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: NH
Posts: 84
No need to do anything with that jumper panel. Just hook up to cable and change tv setting from air to cable and you are good.
__________________
Snyder Family - Pelham, NH
2015 Sunseeker 3170DS
jaibyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 07:59 AM   #5
Citrus County, Fl.
 
GL1800Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hernando, Fl
Posts: 1,223
Just had our PDI walk thru on Thursday. It was explained to me the jumper is for the satellite connection.
__________________
2016 Forester 3011DS
2017 Toyota Corolla SE toad
PREVIOUS: 2015 Flagstaff 832IKBS
99 Terry 31G
GL1800Rider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 08:50 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Kaysville, Utah
Posts: 153
When using cable TV you need to jump position 2 & 3.
__________________
steverkemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 09:18 AM   #7
Member
 
jaibyrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: NH
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by steverkemp View Post
When using cable TV you need to jump position 2 & 3.
I didn't have to jump when I plugged into campground CATV. I think you need to jump when using the rooftop satellite connection.
__________________
Snyder Family - Pelham, NH
2015 Sunseeker 3170DS
jaibyrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 09:23 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Forester Fred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: On the road between New Hampshire and Florida
Posts: 371
Hmmm.... bclemens or Joshua Cavitt, you guys want to jump in on this one?
__________________
Forester Fred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2015, 02:26 PM   #9
Georgia Frog Rally 2018
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 10,654
When going to cable just remember to turn off the little button you pushed for the boost Not needed for cable. Later RJD
__________________
2015 35 FT V-Lite 30WRLIKS Diamond Package
2015 Chevy 2500 6.0 4:10 gearing.
Days camped in 2016 58
Days camped so far 2017 62
aceinspp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2015, 12:55 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Kaysville, Utah
Posts: 153
For my '16 3171 the top position is sat and middle is catv. Must be different.
__________________

__________________
steverkemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 AM.