Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-04-2015, 11:21 PM   #1

North Washington State Coast

Planning on spending a few weeks in July. Looking at Birch Bay SP, Bay View SP, and Deception Pass SP. Also Fort Ebey SP or South Whidbey SP on Whidbey Island.

I'm assuming these parks are very busy in July and I will need reservations? Are any less crowded than others? Anyone have a favorite campsite at any of these parks? We prefer privacy over view. Power and water nice but not a must. Any other camping spots in the area we should consider?

Traveling in a 25' TT. Thanks in advance for any info.
Old 01-04-2015, 11:40 PM   #2
Site Team

old cat, i'm a former NorCal resident that now lives in the area you're looking at.

Deception Pass is a great park and Birch Bay is very nice also.
Bay View faces a couple of refineries across the water, by Anacortes.
here's a camper's review:

June 8 Cabins good, Oil Refineries Bad
The park is nice and the Cabins are great. Clean, semi-private and a nice way to camp with kids. The bay + beach look out on to 2 oil refineries pumping white smoke into the air. Not so good. Deception Pass is a shrot drive away - recommend spending the day there.

but Anacortes is a great town but really busy in the summer, due to the ferry.

haven't camped at Ebey or S. Whidbey yet.

yes, you'll need reservations as these are very popular campgrounds.
if you want private, i can recommend Camano Island State Park, which is where i live. great out of the way campground but you still should do reservations.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 12:31 AM   #3

All will be crowded that time of year. All are nice, wooded parks. I have been to all of them but not necessarily camped.