Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-2010, 03:29 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
2006 Georgetown 373

I just purchased my coach and am trying to hook up a Dish network satellite system. I can locate a Park-Cable connection in the outside storage by the entry door and in the power connection door. In the cabinet above the front passenger seat, there is an RG-6 coax with a satellite tag. Does anyone have any idea where the other end of the cable is located?
__________________

__________________
capowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 04:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
kvtaylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dahlgren VA
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by capowers View Post
I just purchased my coach and am trying to hook up a Dish network satellite system. I can locate a Park-Cable connection in the outside storage by the entry door and in the power connection door. In the cabinet above the front passenger seat, there is an RG-6 coax with a satellite tag. Does anyone have any idea where the other end of the cable is located?
The park-cable in the outside storage by the door is for an outside TV. The receiving satellite cable end is found in the power connection door. it is used for cable connection too. The RG-6 coax in the cabinet is the other end. You will have to have a satellite receiver at this point and another cable from the receiver to the TV set. I assume that you are going to use a portable dish outside somewhere. There may be a satellite antenna wire in your roof for a automatic dish antenna setup. There was one in our 2008 Georgetown.
__________________

__________________


Ken and Velda
Dahlgren, VA.
2008 Georgetown XL 378
2010 Ford Escape Limited
kvtaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2010, 06:56 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
jsutherl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 312
I've heard it said in these forums that the cable with the satellite tag comes out on the roof in a fake vent over the passenger seat. Take the cover off the vent and the cable should be in there.

Pretty handy for putting in a dome type sat system.
__________________
2008 Georgetown SE 350DS BunkHouse
jsutherl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 01:00 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
I thought I would give an update on what I did. We bypassed the AV switch box and hooked our Dish network receiver directly to the LR TV to set up the external satellite dish on a tri pod stand. After we found the satellites and had the antenna pointed correctly I tried hooking up to the coax connector in the left rear power door. It worked fine. After I knew that the system was working ok, I hooked the AV switch box back up. Thanks for the help.
__________________
capowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 10:51 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
nemo45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Arlington, WI
Posts: 229
Send a message via MSN to nemo45 Send a message via Yahoo to nemo45
I have the Dishnetwork two TV DVR setup in our 378TS. We also have a winegard HD turbo automatic dish. To have an HD picture you have to run an HDMI cable to the no. 1 TV. So I ran the no. 2 TV coax through an A-B switch to the antenna inlet on the AV box switch. On the other inlet to the A-B switch I connected the coax from the antenna signal amplifier. Now I get a clear satellite picture on the bedroom TV and I can switch to antenna if I need to. You can only get HD on the one TV with the HDMI cable with this setup. You'd have to get two receivers to get HD on both TV's. I really like this setup. We have a tripod dish but haven't been carrying it with us as I get a good signal most places we go.
__________________
Don & Carol Niemeyer and Sandy
2006 Gulf Stream Tour Master Diesel Pusher
2011 Chevy Equinox Toad
nemo45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 09:04 PM   #6
Member
 
betndavrv2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by nemo45 View Post
I have the Dishnetwork two TV DVR setup in our 378TS. We also have a winegard HD turbo automatic dish. To have an HD picture you have to run an HDMI cable to the no. 1 TV. So I ran the no. 2 TV coax through an A-B switch to the antenna inlet on the AV box switch. On the other inlet to the A-B switch I connected the coax from the antenna signal amplifier. Now I get a clear satellite picture on the bedroom TV and I can switch to antenna if I need to. You can only get HD on the one TV with the HDMI cable with this setup. You'd have to get two receivers to get HD on both TV's. I really like this setup. We have a tripod dish but haven't been carrying it with us as I get a good signal most places we go.
I would like to do the same thing. How did you run the HDMI cable from the Dish receiver to the front TV? Where did you place your Dish receiver?
__________________
betndavrv2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:26 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
nemo45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Arlington, WI
Posts: 229
Send a message via MSN to nemo45 Send a message via Yahoo to nemo45
The dish receiver is in the middle compartment above the dash, I had to drill a hole (1-1/2" hole saw) thru the sides of both compartments for the cables to go thru. I needed a 12 ft. HDMI cable (expensive) to get over to the TV that is above the fireplace (378TS). I ran the cable thru the compartments above the dash and then thru the compartment on the passanger side above the window and behind the speaker there and out the bottom of the that compartment thru a hole (1-1/2") I drilled with a hole saw. Then around the slide to the back of the TV. The cable is visible for about a foot as it goes around the slide and I'll have to remember to unplug it from the TV before I put in that slide. I would post a picture but we won't be back to the rig until after xmas.
__________________
Don & Carol Niemeyer and Sandy
2006 Gulf Stream Tour Master Diesel Pusher
2011 Chevy Equinox Toad
nemo45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 10:50 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
jsutherl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 312
12ft HDMI cables are $4.76 at monoprice.com, shipping is reasonable too.

Monoprice is amazing. I've ordered hundreds of cables from them (mostly for work) and they've all been great.

For only $3.92 each when QTY 50+ purchased - 12ft 28AWG Standard Speed HDMI Cable w/Ferrite Cores - Black | 28AWG HDMI Male to Male Cables
__________________
2008 Georgetown SE 350DS BunkHouse
jsutherl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 01:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
nemo45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Arlington, WI
Posts: 229
Send a message via MSN to nemo45 Send a message via Yahoo to nemo45
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsutherl View Post
12ft HDMI cables are $4.76 at monoprice.com, shipping is reasonable too.

Monoprice is amazing. I've ordered hundreds of cables from them (mostly for work) and they've all been great.

For only $3.92 each when QTY 50+ purchased - 12ft 28AWG Standard Speed HDMI Cable w/Ferrite Cores - Black | 28AWG HDMI Male to Male Cables
Bought mine at walmart and all they had were the gold ones, of course, and it was 40.00.
__________________

__________________
Don & Carol Niemeyer and Sandy
2006 Gulf Stream Tour Master Diesel Pusher
2011 Chevy Equinox Toad
nemo45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
georgetown, satellite, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.