Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2013, 07:52 AM   #21
Retired Ford Tech
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Full-Timer
Posts: 141
My bad, just read it in the procedure !
__________________

__________________
rvpezzano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 11:45 AM   #22
Member
 
RudysWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 452
An earlier post stated that if you use antifreeze you don't need to blow out lines. I thought this would be the case also, except when I went to fill the fresh water tank a couple weeks ago for a trip to Florida the fresh water and city water inlets were frozen and could not fill with water for the trip. I had used antifreeze without blowing out, so far haven't seen any adverse effects. So yesterday I bought a compressor at harbor freight and will be blowing out the lines today before winterizing.
__________________

__________________

Rudy - 10 year old long haired dachshund, RIP
2011 Georgetown 350TS
2013 Chevrolet Equinox toad
RudysWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2014, 01:47 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 1,414
Someone posted that blowing air through the lines was not necessary...something to do with gravity taking care of it. It takes a couple of minutes to grab the compressor's air hose and blow them out. It would take a lot longer than that if water is trapped in and a line has to be replaced. Hopefully you got lucky. Let us know.
__________________
2014 Georgetown 351DS
-TruCenter -Front/Rear CHF -Hellwig Links -Tiger Trak -Ran McNally GPS -ScanGauge -Truck Systems TPMS -5 Star Tune
alparmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 11:29 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
bend302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bronston, KY
Posts: 685
While I don't remember where I saw it, someone suggested that when you winterize, don't forget to add a little antifreeze to the fresh water inlet and the black tank flush just to be sure no water is in there to freeze. I have not done that but think I will in the future.

Bill
__________________

Life is a journey, not a destination.
2005 Georgetown 359ts
Bill & Virginia, Kentucky
Nights camped in 2011...78 , 2012...73,
Nights camped in 2013...123, 2014 ...101
bend302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 12:06 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by bend302 View Post
While I don't remember where I saw it, someone suggested that when you winterize, don't forget to add a little antifreeze to the fresh water inlet and the black tank flush just to be sure no water is in there to freeze. I have not done that but think I will in the future.

Bill
That would work if you don't have a compressor. Cut a piece of water hose and attach a funnel to it so that gravity pushes the pink stuff in.
__________________
2014 Georgetown 351DS
-TruCenter -Front/Rear CHF -Hellwig Links -Tiger Trak -Ran McNally GPS -ScanGauge -Truck Systems TPMS -5 Star Tune
alparmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 07:19 PM   #26
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
Dumb question - where is the Shut off valve for the propane in a 14' FR Georgetown 351DS? I looked at my tank but don't seem to find anything that indicates that I can shut off the propane - thanks in advance.
__________________
P38wannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 07:28 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 1,414
No such thing as a dumb question. See red arrow:

__________________
2014 Georgetown 351DS
-TruCenter -Front/Rear CHF -Hellwig Links -Tiger Trak -Ran McNally GPS -ScanGauge -Truck Systems TPMS -5 Star Tune
alparmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 10:03 PM   #28
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 6
tyvm, I looked at that knob but it was so tight in the open position that I was afraid to brake it - got it unstuck now ...

While I am at it maybe one more question - we have the propane heat on ours as well as the heat stripes - but honestly even cranking the heat stripes all the way up to 90 on the thermostat - we get only luke warm air for the ceiling outlet - are we doing something wrong ? or do they just not produce much heat?
__________________
P38wannabe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 07:59 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 1,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by P38wannabe View Post
tyvm, I looked at that knob but it was so tight in the open position that I was afraid to brake it - got it unstuck now ...

While I am at it maybe one more question - we have the propane heat on ours as well as the heat stripes - but honestly even cranking the heat stripes all the way up to 90 on the thermostat - we get only luke warm air for the ceiling outlet - are we doing something wrong ? or do they just not produce much heat?
We don't have heat strips, but what I understand is that they are designed to help your furnace. In other words, you set your furnace on a certain temp and the strips will help keep that temp without using as much propane.
__________________
2014 Georgetown 351DS
-TruCenter -Front/Rear CHF -Hellwig Links -Tiger Trak -Ran McNally GPS -ScanGauge -Truck Systems TPMS -5 Star Tune
alparmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2014, 09:19 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Krazymace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sunriver, Oregon
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by RudysWorld View Post
An earlier post stated that if you use antifreeze you don't need to blow out lines. I thought this would be the case also, except when I went to fill the fresh water tank a couple weeks ago for a trip to Florida the fresh water and city water inlets were frozen and could not fill with water for the trip. I had used antifreeze without blowing out, so far haven't seen any adverse effects. So yesterday I bought a compressor at harbor freight and will be blowing out the lines today before winterizing.

I've never blown out the lines of any RV I've owned. 6 of them. I just make sure pink stuff is visible coming out everywhere fresh water flows. Never have I had a frozen pipe. 23 below zero last Dec without a problem. Takes me about 2gal of antifreeze to completely winterize my 335.
__________________

__________________
Krazymace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
winter, winterize

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.