Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-11-2015, 09:33 PM   #1

A/C pressure readings

Can anybody tell me what the pressure readings should be on the Ford F53 chassis air conditioner. My low side is 16 psi and the high side is 240 psi. Ambient temp was 97 degrees. I am getting a little freezing water around the evaporator coil right at the low pressure valve.
Is this normal or maybe a restricted orifice.
I cools just okay.
I don't want to take it in and be charged for servicing a good system.
Old 08-11-2015, 11:13 PM   #2

I am no expert.. The normal r-134a suction pressure w/12-1500 RPMs with a cool cab would be about 35psig... The discharge sounds good. If it is 97 outside that's good...makes me think there may be a partial restriction in the liquid line somewhere.

Kill it and let it equalize fully. Have someone start it and watch the gauges. The high side may fall slightly before it begins to rise. It should stabilize and not really fall after it peaks. If it falls from say 275 to 230 or 240 or lower...i would look for a restriction. Probably in the orifice assuming it has one.

If it is low of charge...it is possible..then watch the head cause it's prolly gonna be high. That's a new subject.

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 08:01 AM   #3

Agree with your pressure diagnosis. Head pressure should be 2x the ambient temperature + 20% is a good rule of thumb. Low side should be around 35 PSIG. Was it worked on before? Could have not been properly placed in a good vacuum and dirt could cause a restriction.

Coach 350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 03:53 PM   #4

Neither am I an expert. But I do have gauges and the knowledge of the Internet and friends on this forum.