Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2014, 04:25 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Newellri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 280
Ac/doc fridge ...

We left moterhome parked for five or six days when we returned fridge had shut down. Lotts of rotten stuff. Restarted fridge and spent the next couple of hours cleaning up the mess! Yup it was very late!
__________________

__________________
Newellri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2014, 04:37 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 1,414
Where you on shorepower?
__________________

__________________
2014 Georgetown 351DS
-TruCenter -Front/Rear CHF -Hellwig Links -Tiger Trak -Ran McNally GPS -ScanGauge -Truck Systems TPMS -5 Star Tune
alparmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2014, 04:46 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Newellri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 280
Yes, it did not transfer to lp, just shut down. I wonder if the transfer switch is ok?
__________________
Newellri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2014, 04:49 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
awwall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Biloxi, Ms
Posts: 704
Normally you run the Fridge in "Auto Mode". It defaults to AC if available and to Propane if AC is lost. If you just hit "On" on the Fridge and lost power for a moment, it will shut down and not transfer. Make sure you are using "Auto"....
__________________
Wayne & Susan Biloxi,Ms
2012 GeorgeTown 351DS...2015 Ford Focus/Brake Buddy
FROG Member
awwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2014, 06:50 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Newellri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 280
This one has a separate switch for auto or lp it is on auto or lp. It was in auto mode but did not switch. I would assume a power blip. I just know after three years of continual use it had three bags of rotten food. It stunk and set off co2 detecter to add insult to injury. We did not find it till 12:00 when we came back to the camper, long night.
__________________
Newellri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2014, 06:54 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newellri View Post
This one has a separate switch for auto or lp it is on auto or lp. It was in auto mode but did not switch. I would assume a power blip. I just know after three years of continual use it had three bags of rotten food. It stunk and set off co2 detecter to add insult to injury. We did not find it till 12:00 when we came back to the camper, long night.

OK, was the propane on and how long was the power out?

Remember, propane NEEDS a charged battery to run the fridge (and CO/propane detector).

IF you had disconnected the battery using the battery disconnect while you were in hookups and the AC power failed; NOTHING would happen EVEN if you had full propane.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2014, 08:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Newellri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 280
Don't know long power was out but not more than a blip, kids live there. Battery was good and switch was on, and propane is full. The battery question was a good point because I shut it off some time when hocked up to shore power. When I chk it was good. I don't think it has been off except to clean in three years. I bothers me because we wanted to leave here a little longer ( grand kids ball games)
__________________
Newellri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 04:26 PM   #8
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newellri View Post
Don't know long power was out but not more than a blip, kids live there. Battery was good and switch was on, and propane is full. The battery question was a good point because I shut it off some time when hocked up to shore power. When I chk it was good. I don't think it has been off except to clean in three years. I bothers me because we wanted to leave here a little longer ( grand kids ball games)
Shutting off the battery when on shore power is OK (though the converter likes the battery to be there to add additional AC to DC filtering), BUT you do loose the automatic switch over feature if the power fails as you found out.

My technique is to leave it on always, for that very reason.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 08:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Newellri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 280
We started to shut off in the drive way because of the co2 dector. It was on in this case though. I still haven't figured out why it was off when we returned. Have to dump tanks tomorrow and will see if it switches to propane then, as for now it works fine. Mineral oil in battery's has helped with co2 though. Thanks so much for all the input, where else could we go for help and it doesn't cost 127.00 per hour.
__________________

__________________
Newellri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fridge

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.