Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2016, 07:09 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Whitehouse, Texas
Posts: 584
MitchDebbie, I have been reading up on this issue. It sounds like it is the type of transfer switch you have (Mechanical relay versus solid state relay) or it could be the generator not putting out enough power.
Your transfer switch is the contact relay type which is susceptible to low voltage condition. Meaning when an air conditioner is starting up and the generator does not put out enough power it can cause those types of transfer switches to chatter.
The only way to tell what is causing you issue is to measure the voltage drop when an air conditioner compressor kicks on.
Sorry I couldn't be any more help. But if you do get your problem fixed please let us know.
__________________

__________________
2013 Georgetown XL 378
2008 Honda CR-V
wrapperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 07:18 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Bayouownbeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chauvin LA
Posts: 170
It's low voltage causing it. That's what the manufacture said. The new board is suppose to fix the problem. I won't be using mine for a few weeks but will report back once I have tested the new board
__________________

__________________
2017 Georgetown 364TS
Bayouownbeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 02:26 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Bayouownbeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chauvin LA
Posts: 170


This is the transfer switch I was referring to meaning it didn't have contacts
__________________
2017 Georgetown 364TS
Bayouownbeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 02:53 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 30
In our 268RKS, when I start the generator two refrigerators (1 for outside kitchen) and the hot water heater automatically revert to electricity. The AC won't run with the added draw. I switched off the breaker for the hwh & outside refer, set main refer to gas only, and the AC runs fine.

Refers don't draw all that much electricity after the compressors are fired up and have been running for a bit. The wh pulls lots of power.
__________________
BradB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 01:05 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 95
New board arrived and installed tonight, heading out on Friday so we shall see if this solves it.
__________________
2016 364TS
Kevin M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 08:16 AM   #26
Member
 
TheLarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 39
New board came in but unfortunately the same bad results. They are sending a different board. Btw Dennis has been very helpful and prompt in returning calls hope his engineers can come up with a solution soon.
__________________
TheLarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 08:18 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Bayouownbeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chauvin LA
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by MitchDebbie View Post
New board came in but unfortunately the same bad results. They are sending a different board. Btw Dennis has been very helpful and prompt in returning calls hope his engineers can come up with a solution soon.
This new board is the same exc one they sent out first time? I have not installed mine yet. I point being did progressive think it could have been a faulty new board. Sounds like there sending you a board that is side different from that first two correct?
__________________
2017 Georgetown 364TS
Bayouownbeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 08:20 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Bayouownbeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chauvin LA
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin M. View Post
New board arrived and installed tonight, heading out on Friday so we shall see if this solves it.
Kevin you put your original switch back in and installed the new board? From Progressive?
__________________
2017 Georgetown 364TS
Bayouownbeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 08:52 AM   #29
Member
 
TheLarks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayouownbeer View Post
This new board is the same exc one they sent out first time? I have not installed mine yet. I point being did progressive think it could have been a faulty new board. Sounds like there sending you a board that is side different from that first two correct?
That was our first board to replace. It was different from the original board.
__________________
TheLarks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2016, 10:21 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayouownbeer View Post
Kevin you put your original switch back in and installed the new board? From Progressive?
Yes
__________________

__________________
2016 364TS
Kevin M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.