Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2012, 08:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nutmeg View Post
Question, have an automatic switch that acts up after it has been on for a while. Debating doing away with it and just using an outlet. What would be an advantage to replacing with an auto transfer switch?
Biggest is makes rig more self contaned. Ever pull over, start gen and have lunch, never leave coach (in rain)? Sometimes contacts need cleaning or action needs cleaning or lubrication to prevent chattering/humming in operation.
__________________

__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:07 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Merritt Island Fl.
Posts: 168
The plug on my 50 amp cord is either plugged into shore power or outlet in bay . What could be simpler or more reliable.
__________________

__________________
johnnypal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2012, 03:58 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnypal View Post
The plug on my 50 amp cord is either plugged into shore power or outlet in bay . What could be simpler or more reliable.
Thats my thoughts. Nothing to stop working, plug end protected. Just have to remember to plug it in. Have always had one and could not see the real need. Just do not want to do the change and then get the "never thought of that" moment!
__________________
2007 Georgetown 373
Nutmeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 04:39 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Merritt Island Fl.
Posts: 168
The only time you would need the transfer switch is if you were pluged into shore power and it went out. It would save you the trip to the side to move the plug.
__________________
johnnypal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:29 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
copsuno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 277
Simple point if I may, I have the switch, but Gen power does not come thru for almost a min, after Gen is fired and shore power is disconnected. Did you wait to see, the microwave is be way to tell, black, no lights , then in min or less, all 000s flash and then full power. Like I said just a point.
__________________
Logic will carry you from point A to point B. Imagination will carry you everywhere. "Albert Einstein". 2011 Georgetown 360, Bride of 45yrs, and 2014 Chev Equinox toad, what more could you ask for.
copsuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 10:19 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
bend302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bronston, KY
Posts: 686
Quote:
Originally Posted by copsuno
Simple point if I may, I have the switch, but Gen power does not come thru for almost a min, after Gen is fired and shore power is disconnected. Did you wait to see, the microwave is be way to tell, black, no lights , then in min or less, all 000s flash and then full power. Like I said just a point.
The generator has a delay before it takes a load. I have to do that manually in my shop. I can't start my portably with a load attached. I wait until the RPMs are up and the plug it in. Motor home generator does that automatically.

Bill
__________________

__________________

Life is a journey, not a destination.
2005 Georgetown 359ts
Bill & Virginia, Kentucky
Nights camped in 2011...78 , 2012...73,
Nights camped in 2013...123, 2014 ...101
bend302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.