Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2012, 04:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Western New York State
Posts: 902
Am I Missing Something?

Just back from a great seven day trip to Cedar Creek C.O.E. in Mt. Juliet, TN, 17 miles outside of Nashville (a blast!). On trip down, stayed in a rest stop to get some sleep, tried generator using the dash start button in AM to make coffee and had no AC power. Didn't think of checking the two breakers on the genny until at the CG later in day. Ok, so now I'm sure breaker are on, on return trip, same deal, try to use the genny, starts quick but no AC power. Am I missing something? Does the shore power cord have to be plugged into the 50amp outlet in the power bay for AC power in the coach? I thought thats what the auto transfer switch is all about. On my 2000 Allegro, I just hit the dash switch and had AC power as soon as the gen set started. Put a call into the dealer and have not yet received a return so figured I'd ask you guys, Thanks!
__________________

__________________
sherman12
2011 Georgetown 330TS
Kia Sportage on MasterTow Dolly
sherman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Yes. Check your transfer switch. It is not sensing power from the Gen and switching over. May just be the control circuit but check all wire connections in the box. May be the coil is open and no longer works.
__________________

__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:30 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Merritt Island Fl.
Posts: 168
Instead of just throwing the end of your power cord into the bay just plug it in .It always works well that way.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	001.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	20612  
__________________
johnnypal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 04:53 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman12 View Post
Just back from a great seven day trip to Cedar Creek C.O.E. in Mt. Juliet, TN, 17 miles outside of Nashville (a blast!). On trip down, stayed in a rest stop to get some sleep, tried generator using the dash start button in AM to make coffee and had no AC power. Didn't think of checking the two breakers on the genny until at the CG later in day. Ok, so now I'm sure breaker are on, on return trip, same deal, try to use the genny, starts quick but no AC power. Am I missing something? Does the shore power cord have to be plugged into the 50amp outlet in the power bay for AC power in the coach? I thought thats what the auto transfer switch is all about. On my 2000 Allegro, I just hit the dash switch and had AC power as soon as the gen set started. Put a call into the dealer and have not yet received a return so figured I'd ask you guys, Thanks!
You don't have a transfer switch as it sounds, as though it was an option for that coach and well as later years. If you have an outlet, you are the transfer switch. Some coaches the dealer opted that feature as a sales tool, I've had it both ways, both have advantages.
__________________
VinceU is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 09:31 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
tncruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: east tn.
Posts: 415
no xfer switch on my gtown and reading some of the issues i see on s.o.b. i really dont think i need it when i unplug the shore power my bay is allready open so for me part of my way of storing the cord is just plugging it in.
i have stay at several COE parks in tn no better deal any where for 10 bux a night
brianj
__________________
liven life in east TN and wherever my
2011georgetown280ve, and
2016 fordexplorer and hemi RAM
take us
tncruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:30 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Western New York State
Posts: 902
Thanks for the response guys! To my surprise I do not have a transfer switch on my GT. As VinceU said, I am the transfer switch. Went out and plugged it into the bay outlet, made sure breakers were on and lo and behold, AC power in the coach. Looked at 2012 & 2013 GT's which all had the option at like $224 for the transfer switch and just thought my 2011 had it too.
__________________
sherman12
2011 Georgetown 330TS
Kia Sportage on MasterTow Dolly
sherman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:37 PM   #7
Member
 
SemperFi3088's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 65
Ok I'm confused. I have 2013 and when I run the genny I get ac and heat. Does that mean I have the transfer switch?
__________________
SemperFi3088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:47 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
MotocrossCamper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by SemperFi3088
Ok I'm confused. I have 2013 and when I run the genny I get ac and heat. Does that mean I have the transfer switch?
When you put your power cord away do you plug it into an outlet inside your storage compartment on the motorhome? If you do then no you don't have a transfer switch. If the cord doesn't plug into an outlet and everything works when you run the genny then you do have a transfer switch.
__________________
MotocrossCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:08 PM   #9
Member
 
SemperFi3088's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 65
I do not plug it in. Thanks for the clarification
__________________
SemperFi3088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 07:59 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 63
Question, have an automatic switch that acts up after it has been on for a while. Debating doing away with it and just using an outlet. What would be an advantage to replacing with an auto transfer switch?
__________________

__________________
2007 Georgetown 373
Nutmeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 PM.