Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2015, 01:45 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 166
Arct Pac, winterizing and light

Turned on arctic pac and button didn't light up. Does that mean anything? Hope it doesn't mean the arctic pac isn't working! We haven't winterize our MH....have had it for 3 years and it's stored outdoors. We have it plugged into a 20 amp and arctic pac is ,"on" and we also leave the heater on set at 45 degrees. Nothing has ever frozen. We live in the South and our winter aren't cold. We had a few days of low teens and twenties but it then gets up to mid 30s and 40s. It's supposed to be colder this winter. Not winterizing....I hope we don't get frozen pipes!
__________________

__________________
Lvnlife1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 02:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lvnlife1973 View Post
Turned on arctic pac and button didn't light up. Does that mean anything? Hope it doesn't mean the arctic pac isn't working! We haven't winterize our MH....have had it for 3 years and it's stored outdoors. We have it plugged into a 20 amp and arctic pac is ,"on" and we also leave the heater on set at 45 degrees. Nothing has ever frozen. We live in the South and our winter aren't cold. We had a few days of low teens and twenties but it then gets up to mid 30s and 40s. It's supposed to be colder this winter. Not winterizing....I hope we don't get frozen pipes!
Your light might just be burnt out. have you you checked the voltage at the switch going out?
__________________

__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 02:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
I'm believe the light should light when the switch is on to tell you that you have power.
If the low outside temp gets below 44 degrees which is monitored by a thermostst oustside will then turn on power to the heat pads to the tanks and any others you may have.
When the outside temperature reaches 64 degrees or the tank thermostat hits 64 it should turn off.


If you do not get a light it may be bad or you may not have battery 12 volt DC power to the switch or the pads. You can check using a DC meter at the switch or you can also check the fuse in your rig. Here is a picture of my 12 volt fuse panel and its marked for Artic Pack. Mine is on a 20 amp yellow fuse.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	April_17_2012 151.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	455.0 KB
ID:	95682  
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 06:16 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 166
The high today was around 70 degrees, so even though it's turned on inside, it won't actually activate because its too hot outside? I looked in the wrong area. I was looking at the switches next to the fuse box.
__________________
Lvnlife1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 06:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Krazymace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sunriver, Oregon
Posts: 502
Why don't you just drain your tanks?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Krazymace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 10:20 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 125
My arctic pac light didn't light up either. Discovered the fuse had never been installed at the factory.
__________________
2011 Georgetown 378 towing 2011 Chev HHR 2LT
ohiobill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 11:04 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 166
[QUOTE=Krazymace;1051400]Why don't you just drain your tanks?


Good question....is that where you find the two drain plugs and open them?
__________________
Lvnlife1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 01:17 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Brooksville,Fl
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to carluv
Check fuse, they had mine installed in the wrong spot.
__________________
carluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 05:54 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by carluv View Post
Check fuse, they had mine installed in the wrong spot.
Well that's about the norm...
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2015, 09:49 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
We have the 2006 340 TS that we purchased as the 3rd owner. I see the Artic Pak light on the panel but no switch. I am assuming that we may not have the package installed? Any one ever have them installed after the unit left the factory; at the dealer or DIY?
__________________

__________________
BuckeyeJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light, winter, winterize

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.