Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-25-2016, 11:19 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Dijoeboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 376
Auto transfer switch! Recommend

Ok, I'm at wits end with this 2013 XL, the transfer switch drops out at random while running generator, the only thing powered up at the time was 1 front a/c unit and the refrigerator. I was rolling about 5 mph, switch kicks out, a/c kicks out and then the transfer switch rapidly thumps as it tries to re-engage, so I have to stop, turn off a/c, let the transfer switch pull back in and then turn a/c back on. I have been fighting this issue since new, 16K miles, I've replaced the tranfer switch with a new one exactly like what it originally came with, that did not fix issue, I just serviced unit 2 days ago with 15w40 oil / 2 qrts. New air and fuel filters. Rv service center looked at this issue with no fix, Cummings southern plains has checked the generator, no issue there. I'm just tired of the issue,
Any recommendations for a different brand of transfer switch? Unit currently uses a Furrion brand.


2013 Georgetown XL 350
Bunkhouse
2002 F250 4X4 CC
2012 Jeep Liberty
__________________

__________________
Dijoeboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 12:56 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,586
I would first look at the transfer switch logic, the time delay and the relay itself...but that can't be the problem since you changed all of that when you replaced the transfer switch. Has this ever happened when not moving? If not and you use your genny for extended periods while stationary, that might indicate a "shaky" connection between the generator and the switch (if the genny itself does not have a bad connection somewhere which causes it's output to drop out.) What you need to find out is if the ac output of the generator was the first to drop, or the wiring to the switch has caused this problem. Now, all this being said, there isn't anything between the two except a length of wire! I am concerned that you seem to indicate that the switch chatters after this happens which might be the AC compressor high draw as it tries to start up with high head pressure. I would ask the transfer switch vendor how the switch could actually chatter since if it thinks that it has lost the feed from the generator it should drop out and wait a time delay before it tries to re-connect, although if the interruption is very quick perhaps the time delay didn't reset. I really would take a look at other possibilities since I have never had a transfer switch fail and you just can't be that unlucky to have lost two in 16,000 miles TO EXACTLY THE SAME SYMPTOM.
__________________

__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 01:04 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,114
I have used two Progressive Dynamic 30 amp ones in my last 2 campers.
__________________
Skyliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 07:44 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 38
I have the same problem.
Driving me crazy. Been doing it since new, the dealer never gets it to repeat the issue. I run just one AC too and does not jump as much, should be able to run under full load as designed
__________________
cbmerton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 02:24 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Cornelius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 253
My Georgetown does not have a transfer switch for the generator. Instead, there is a 50 amp campground outlet installed in the cord storage compartment that is connected to the generator. When I leave a campground, the big power cord is simply plugged into the outlet. If I want to use the generator, it's ready to go. Works every time...
__________________
2010 Georgetown 373
2013 Jeep Wrangler
Cornelius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 02:27 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Dijoeboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cornelius View Post
My Georgetown does not have a transfer switch for the generator. Instead, there is a 50 amp campground outlet installed in the cord storage compartment that is connected to the generator. When I leave a campground, the big power cord is simply plugged into the outlet. If I want to use the generator, it's ready to go. Works every time...

Is there a brand name on said device? I'm definitely looking for a resolution....


2013 Georgetown XL 350
Bunkhouse
2002 F250 4X4 CC
2012 Jeep Liberty
__________________
Dijoeboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 02:57 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Cornelius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dijoeboss View Post
Is there a brand name on said device? I'm definitely looking for a resolution....
It's just a regular 50 amp RV outlet like the type you find on a campground pedestal. It is installed in a surface mount electrical box. They sell these parts at Home Depot, Lowes, etc. An electrician should be able to remove the transfer switch and install the 50 amp outlet. As far as I know, on my Georgetown, it was installed this way at the factory.

I later added the Progressive Industries EMS surge protector also seen in the photo.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3644.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	351.2 KB
ID:	109124  
__________________
2010 Georgetown 373
2013 Jeep Wrangler
Cornelius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 05:03 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Dijoeboss's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 376
I would think there has to be something in the system to change from generator to shore power even though there is a 50 amp plug box in your Rv


2013 Georgetown XL 350
Bunkhouse
2002 F250 4X4 CC
2012 Jeep Liberty
__________________
Dijoeboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 05:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Dijoeboss I had mine failed like your within a few months of picking it up new at the dealer.
The dealer installed ATS-501 model for my 50 amp service and has worked flawlessly over the past 4 years.

They all are similar in the way they work.
Mine has plug in relays instead of open contacts.


See attachment picture and document.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2013-01-17_224235_parallax-line-switch-ats-501.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	236.9 KB
ID:	109138   Click image for larger version

Name:	Trailer Pics 009.jpg
Views:	165
Size:	425.6 KB
ID:	109139  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 011-5171-001 REV_B.pdf (273.3 KB, 29 views)
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 05:31 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Blackhat6mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: St Simons Island, GA
Posts: 1,204
I have the ATS 503 50amp unit with fixed relays and no problems. I replaced the metal front with a Lexan cover so I could see what was going on during switching. I just nosey!
__________________

__________________
Aviator Wright Flyer #1919
Army Pathfinder Vietnam, 3 tours
DAV, MOPH, VFW, NRA, 1stCav. ABN
Blackhat6mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
transfer switch

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.