Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2014, 12:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
69BBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Prince Edward County
Posts: 29
back up camera system

Our 2006 georgetown had a dash mounted monitor. As we rattled over the highway potholes the unit fell back under the dash cracking the dash panel . Got home and cant believe the weight and how it was mounted. Now looking to replace the monitor. Went online to amazon and they sell 7 in. monitors that would seem to work instead of the old unit . Hoping to use the existing camera and simply adapt the wiring in the dash to adapt to the new unit. Is this workable ? thanks Larry
__________________

__________________
69BBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 04:16 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
69BBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Prince Edward County
Posts: 29
Was surfing the net for a bit. These seem feasible , anybody have any good or bad experience with these type of units. Wireless ccd mounted back up camera with 7 in. monitor. Amazon sells then around $250. One I looked at was from TADIBROS.

__________________

__________________
69BBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 05:57 PM   #3
Missing Link
 
cyclepuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Genesee, MI
Posts: 410
You should be able to wire up your own monitor without issue. I made my own kit for my truck that works great for about $45 buying the pieces separately. I tried a wireless and it wasn't very good. The more metal the signal has to go through the worse the reception will be and other wireless electronics will mess with it such as Bluetooth. What connection was on the monitor that broke?
__________________
2014 Puma 30-DBSS
2014 Ram 2500 Mega Cab 6.4L
cyclepuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 06:42 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
69BBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Prince Edward County
Posts: 29
Connections are both ok, the camera and the monitor both still work. The mounting brackets to hold the monitor split the dash and I can not glue them back in place. I still have power in the wires and the camera wire is good. Probably buy a new monitor and try to splice the wires, looks pretty straightforward.
__________________
69BBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 06:56 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,333
You don't mention what brand of monitor you have in your rig. Ours was a Voyager model VOM 784CT. They are no longer made.......old technology....CRT picture tube design versus today's models flat screen. We upgraded with the newer flat screen 7" monitor and adapter cables.

Are you going with an entirely new set up or trying to re-use the existing monitor?
__________________

Ken and Terry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 07:06 PM   #6
Missing Link
 
cyclepuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Genesee, MI
Posts: 410
You can get a new 7" monitor for about $30 on amazon with two options in mounting brackets. Just connect the video in and splice into the power that was powering the previous monitor and good to go.
__________________
2014 Puma 30-DBSS
2014 Ram 2500 Mega Cab 6.4L
cyclepuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 08:17 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
69BBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Prince Edward County
Posts: 29
My old monitor is a voyager. The camera is working and so is the monitor but it is to heavy to remount into the dash panel so I really need to upgrade. Like the camera when towing the car and want to get something to replace it asap.
__________________
69BBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 08:20 PM   #8
Missing Link
 
cyclepuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Genesee, MI
Posts: 410
Brand new 7 inch TFT LCD Digital Car Rear View Monitor With Remote and Stand by sunvalleytek http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004Y3FE6O/..._Q3AZtb0JKQXQA
__________________
2014 Puma 30-DBSS
2014 Ram 2500 Mega Cab 6.4L
cyclepuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 08:59 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
69BBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Prince Edward County
Posts: 29
easy to splice the wires on the sunvalley set up ?
__________________
69BBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2014, 09:08 PM   #10
Missing Link
 
cyclepuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Genesee, MI
Posts: 410
Don't know how the sunvalley is set up but most are fairly similar. The one I've done are three wires. Power, ground and signal.
__________________

__________________
2014 Puma 30-DBSS
2014 Ram 2500 Mega Cab 6.4L
cyclepuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
back up camera

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.