Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2014, 01:33 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 14
Exclamation Both A/c's won't always run on generator especially when hot (when needed most!)

Hello! new to forum and itt seems others have had similar issues but wanted to know the latest on this issue if anyone knows. My dealer is having issues narrowing down the problem, I have a 2013 329 Georgetown with a Onan 5.5 and 2 Dometic A/C's.

Often, not always, when I try to turn on the 2nd A/C, the generator shuts off power to both. I have to then wait a few minutes, restart the a/c 's again. They may fail 1 out of 4 attempts. This problems never happens on shore power. The dealer seems to think it might be a heat factor on the a/c 's because he asked me when it happened more and I said when it's hot outside. Isn't that when you need an a/c i said! It rarely fails for them in their much cooler service bays. However, I'm asking them why couldn't this be a generator issue???

The R/V is only a year old and has approx 200 hours on generator, so it's fairly new. I'm asking if they can't run diagnostics or monitor the amperage draw on both generators and/or the a/c units. They appear to be hesitant because it doesn't fail often and they are not being paid for "diagnostic time". So, they are motivated to have it get worse(at my expense and frustration) before identifying issues because they are more likely to get paid for an identified failed component that is covered under warranty. It has failed in their presence although the mechanic appears to be skeptical. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Thanks jerry!
__________________

__________________
Reyco50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 03:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reyco50 View Post
Hello! new to forum and itt seems others have had similar issues but wanted to know the latest on this issue if anyone knows. My dealer is having issues narrowing down the problem, I have a 2013 329 Georgetown with a Onan 5.5 and 2 Dometic A/C's.

Often, not always, when I try to turn on the 2nd A/C, the generator shuts off power to both. I have to then wait a few minutes, restart the a/c 's again. They may fail 1 out of 4 attempts. This problems never happens on shore power. The dealer seems to think it might be a heat factor on the a/c 's because he asked me when it happened more and I said when it's hot outside. Isn't that when you need an a/c i said! It rarely fails for them in their much cooler service bays. However, I'm asking them why couldn't this be a generator issue???

The R/V is only a year old and has approx 200 hours on generator, so it's fairly new. I'm asking if they can't run diagnostics or monitor the amperage draw on both generators and/or the a/c units. They appear to be hesitant because it doesn't fail often and they are not being paid for "diagnostic time". So, they are motivated to have it get worse(at my expense and frustration) before identifying issues because they are more likely to get paid for an identified failed component that is covered under warranty. It has failed in their presence although the mechanic appears to be skeptical. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Thanks jerry!
Well, a major difference between shore power and gen power is that shore power is 50 amps 2 phase (100 amps total) delivered to 2 load busses (50 amps to each bus). The gen delivers about 49 amps 1 phase (49 amps total) to those 2 busses. The A/C's typically are wired with 1 A/C on bus 1 and the other on bus 2. 5500 watts (gen output) is probably right on the edge of sufficient power in your situation (with everything else powered and both A/C's happen to start up together). JMO.
__________________

__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 04:24 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
When running the generator for the AC's, make sure your water heater is on propane only, fridge on propane if possible, reducing current consumption from other appliances might work......
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 04:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 53
I have the same issue on my 2015 351DS. I'm just guessing too much power needed from the generator. Mine happens when I drive and use the generator to power the fridge, tv, whatever else plugged in such as phone, etc. It would turn on for a bit and eventually trip the breaker on the generator. I learn to live with just using the back one and the fronts being cooled by the front cab A/C from the RV itself.
__________________
sithc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 06:07 PM   #5
Grape Escape
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 774
That is why 7KW is offered as option which will run everything.
__________________
2008 Cardinal 30RKLE 5th wheel sold
2006 Rockwood 2607, 2001 Traillite
55 nights 2009, 53 for 2010
44 for 2011, 38 for 2012, 35 for 2013, 51 for 2014
dezolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 06:50 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 189
Maybe fr should have installed the bigger one so no problems huh


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
rwehba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 06:55 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Whitehouse, Texas
Posts: 693
I have a 2013 378XL
5500 watt generator
Both a/c running and can still run the microwave. Even when it is very hot.
I'm not a certified mechanic but sounds like a generator inverter problem
Let us know if you find out


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
2013 Georgetown XL 378
2008 Honda CR-V
wrapperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 06:58 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 844
The key here is the power draw most aren't aware off and that is the battery charger.
Depending on generator type and setup (btw. the same applies to shore power) the power is either fed directly to the batteries and the AC's or fed through the RV's converter/charger and then shared. This draw can be as much as 15 Amp AC on larger chargers. One option is to let the batteries charge for a couple of hours before starting the AC that shares the circuit with the charger.
__________________
2013 RAM 3500 Dually Longhorn traded in
2018 RAM 5500 in the pipe
Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar, 6x6 Volt Battery Bank, Freedom SW 3012 Inv/Charger
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 07:08 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
Well, a major difference between shore power and gen power is that shore power is 50 amps 2 phase (100 amps total) delivered to 2 load busses (50 amps to each bus). The gen delivers about 49 amps 1 phase (49 amps total) to those 2 busses. The A/C's typically are wired with 1 A/C on bus 1 and the other on bus 2. 5500 watts (gen output) is probably right on the edge of sufficient power in your situation (with everything else powered and both A/C's happen to start up together). JMO.
Thank you for yur response JMO. Yes, your absolutely correct based on what my Tech said also. However, it fails with only the 2 a/c's and nothing else on since I've been very careful not to overload. Pls let me know if you know of anything else that might need checking. thank you…jerry
__________________
Reyco50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 07:59 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reyco50 View Post
Thank you for yur response JMO. Yes, your absolutely correct based on what my Tech said also. However, it fails with only the 2 a/c's and nothing else on since I've been very careful not to overload. Pls let me know if you know of anything else that might need checking. thank you…jerry
Since it does operate normally otherwise (Im assuming it is) all I can possibly think of is to let an authorized gen repair facility connect a load bank to the unit and check that the advertised output load is being produced. Could possibly be a 60Hz issue also because of speed controls. There are numerous adjustements the repair facility can make. It's kind of difficult to try and come up with just one reason for these gen issues, such as your's because it evidently functions just fine in all other scenarios. I'm sorry I could not be of further assistance to your questions. There are very knowledgeable individuals on this forum and maybe one will chime in. I have always had a 70kva gen and this issue has never happened to me. Good luck. JMO
__________________

__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.