Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2016, 08:44 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Cable TV Static

For the first time I am hooking up to cable in my Georgetown. I Hooked the cable in the rear compartment, changed the manual switch in the front overhead to cable, and changed the tv setting from antenna to cable, and ran a channel scan. I am getting lots of channels but they are all static! Very frustrating, any thoughts from anyone?


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
KP 351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 08:51 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,840
Reads like a loose connection, so I suggest you start there.

Also make sure the antenna booster is off if you have one.
__________________

__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 08:51 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Whitehouse, Texas
Posts: 692
Lose connection somewhere.
I had a lose connection behind the TV
__________________
2013 Georgetown XL 378
2008 Honda CR-V
wrapperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 08:54 PM   #4
World Wide Wanderer
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Sprung Leak, NC
Posts: 1,231
Is the antenna amplifier off? On mine it is in a cabinet near the TV on the same plug as the 12 volt feed for the TV (looks kind of like a cigarette lighter port. You want the LED off. Another not uncommon problem is a substandard splitter if you have more than one TV.

Aaron
__________________
Aaron & Rhonda
wahoonc & Airangel60

2016 Coachmen Concord 300DS
2015 Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2016, 09:53 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
I did check connections and found a few loose, will run another scan. Thanks



Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
KP 351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 07:55 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
nomad297's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,241
How do you know your source is good?

Bruce
__________________
2016 Rockwood Windjammer 3029W Diamond
2015 Chevy 3500HD LTZ 6.0 Crew Cab 4x4 Long Bed 4.10:1 SRW
nomad297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 08:49 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Yes, I am starting to think that source could be the problem


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
KP 351 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 04:23 PM   #8
Happily Retired Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Munith, Mi
Posts: 178
I have had a fuzzy picture on my 378(Toshiba TV) and every time the problem is the video cable on the rear of the TV shakes loose. Problem is I have to loosen the TV from the mount to get At the cable to push it in.
__________________
Mickey & Sue Stamper
2013 GT XL 378TS
Fire Mist

2013 Ford Escape on Landgrebe tow dolly
Mickeystamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 07:22 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
HookupAndGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 170
Mine is usually static at the lower channels and gets clearer up towards the upper channels. I have checked the cable connections as well. My next thing is to check the location of the cable runs to see if they are maybe picking up noise from other sources -- in my case, probably the power since they come in via the same access hole.

The best way to isolate where your problem is -- get a long cable and run it directly from the pedestal to the the TV in question. If all is clear there, then you know it is something within your system. ... and that is where I'm at.
__________________
2013 Georgetown 351
Much more significant other....
2 Kids and a dog that rules!
HookupAndGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2016, 12:21 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Freds342's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 407
Check with the park office; you may need a decoder box.
__________________

__________________
2005 Georgetown 342DS XL, Full Banks Package
2005 Liberty Renegade 4X Toad
1989 Wrangler Sahara Toad
1984 19.5' Beachcraft i/o 5.o liter, 4-bbl (and you thought your Moho sucked gas!)
D/W Carole and Maggie the Teacup Lab (Black Chihuahua)
Freds342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.