Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2014, 08:44 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: East Texas
Posts: 56
Clock with generator

Why do my clocks run about 30 min ahead in about 7-8 hours with generator running
__________________

__________________
kgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 09:01 AM   #2
Member
 
jriddering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 163
Most AC clocks maintain time off 60 cycle frequency. Generator is running at more than 60 cycles. Get a clock that auto sets time from the air.
__________________

__________________
Jim and Carol

2012 Crusader 290RLT
2010 Ford F-250 King Cab Diesel
Harley Davidson Edition
jriddering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 09:26 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Berryville, Arkansas
Posts: 709
Or...get generator set to 60 HZ!
__________________


2012 CC 36CKTS Touring Edition
[SIZE=2]2015 Ford F-350 CC DRW Lariat
Joe_GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 09:48 AM   #4
Member
 
jriddering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 163
That will work too. generator might be able to be adjusted a little closer to correct speed.
__________________
Jim and Carol

2012 Crusader 290RLT
2010 Ford F-250 King Cab Diesel
Harley Davidson Edition
jriddering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 12:56 PM   #5
Member
 
leomosley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 45
I believe that power utilities adjust their output frequency to average 60 Hz (IE: if it runs over for a bit, it will run under to average out), so that clocks will maintain the correct time. Your generator attempts to maintain 60 Hz, and therefore could average under or over over time

Sent from my ME173X using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________
Cheers
Leo Mosley
2011 Georgetown 300S
leomosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 03:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgreen View Post
Why do my clocks run about 30 min ahead in about 7-8 hours with generator running
If your clocks are run off of a motor then the frequency would effect it.
It shouldn't effect any electronic clocks like in the microware.
Sounds like you have more than one clock that is doing it.
What clocks in the motorhome are you talking about?
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 04:10 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: East Texas
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
If your clocks are run off of a motor then the frequency would effect it.
It shouldn't effect any electronic clocks like in the microware.
Sounds like you have more than one clock that is doing it.
What clocks in the motorhome are you talking about?

The microwave clock & I had a coffee maker plugged in the next morning both clocks had same time which was about 30 min ahead of the time I reset them to correct time as day went on they were both gaining time
__________________
kgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 04:30 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgreen View Post
The microwave clock & I had a coffee maker plugged in the next morning both clocks had same time which was about 30 min ahead of the time I reset them to correct time as day went on they were both gaining time
Being you have a new Georgetown I would have the generator checked by the dealer under warranty.
It sure sounds like the generator speed is the problem. If you have any accurate voltmeter I would for now check to see what your generator output voltage is. Should be 115-120 volts.
Let us know what you find out.
Good luck
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 06:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: East Texas
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
Being you have a new Georgetown I would have the generator checked by the dealer under warranty.
It sure sounds like the generator speed is the problem. If you have any accurate voltmeter I would for now check to see what your generator output voltage is. Should be 115-120 volts.
Let us know what you find out.
Good luck

I will check voltage & see if it is ok
__________________
kgreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2014, 06:49 PM   #10
Member
 
jriddering's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 163
You could be within the correct voltage and have cycles per second still off. I get it at home when running off generator when we lose power. I just know it will be off and reset it as needed
__________________

__________________
Jim and Carol

2012 Crusader 290RLT
2010 Ford F-250 King Cab Diesel
Harley Davidson Edition
jriddering is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.