Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-03-2013, 10:27 AM   #1

Send a message via Skype™ to Falcon35
Coach Service

I booked my Georgetown 378 for grease & oil at the local Ford dealer.
I asked the service manager regarding checking the brakes and he told me they need to be taken apart and cleaned and lubricated. The quoted me a price of $500.00 + for the brake service. The coach is two years old and has about 16000 mi on it. Is this something I should be doing?
Protect-A-Tow
Falcon35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 10:39 AM   #2

Cleaned and lubricated? WTF? Are they talking about lubricating the bearings? If it has good pads and the rotors aren't warped, you should have nothing to service. I know cars really well and I'm a newbie at motorhomes, but IMO 16k miles is a bit to early for brake service. I can understand lubing the shafts, joints, etc.
Old 10-03-2013, 10:55 AM   #3

I just called and canceled that appointment with the Ford dealer.
The service now is being done by a very reputably independent garage.
I have been using them to service our cars and our F350 that I traded for the coach.
This shop has a contract to service all the Union Gas vehicles in this area.
I somehow thought I had to take it to Ford to maintain the warranty.
It turns out all I need to do is to be able to prove I have had it serviced.
The shop I'm taking it to automatically visually inspect the brakes when they do the service.
Protect-A-Tow
Old 10-03-2013, 11:14 AM   #4
CLASS "A" Senior Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by alparmmer View Post
Cleaned and lubricated? WTF? Are they talking about lubricating the bearings? If it has good pads and the rotors aren't warped, you should have nothing to service. I know cars really well and I'm a newbie at motorhomes, but IMO 16k miles is a bit to early for brake service. I can understand lubing the shafts, joints, etc.