Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-07-2015, 05:23 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
xman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lancaster NY
Posts: 108
tell me if im right here....the dish cable goes from LNB to 4 connection switch input then output to power source . from power source to box then box to TV?
__________________

__________________
OK question Time...
2016 Georgetown 335ds
Larry and Judy Crossman
Lancaster NY
xman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 07:27 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 753
no, single coax cable is as follows from antenna - out of antenna into power inserter, out of power inserter into video bridge, out of video bridge into receiver box. I do not have a splitter. the direct tv guy on the phone said to cable it like this from antenna - out of antenna into splitter, two cables out of splitter - cable 1 out of splitter to power inserter, out of power inserter to receiver box - cable 2 out of splitter to video bridge. if this is correct what type of splitter do I need?
__________________

__________________
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2015, 07:58 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
xman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lancaster NY
Posts: 108
this is the package i bought. the splitter i speak of is the thing in the upper right hand side. It has cable input on one side and power out on the other side with three outputs next to it
RV HD SWM 5 Camping or Tail Gate Portable Satellite Dish Kit, SWM SL5s
__________________
OK question Time...
2016 Georgetown 335ds
Larry and Judy Crossman
Lancaster NY
xman123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 01:00 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 513
I use a tripod based antenna with my DTV pulled from the house for use in my 2011 Georgetown 327DS. Hookup was fairly easy but does require some (short) cables and other inexpensive equipment.

The Park cable input uses coax that will pass the satellite signals which means that I could use it between the DTV box located in the passenger side overhead compartment and the rear of the RV. I carry two 100' cables and a 20' which get used as necessary depending on how far away form the RV I need to put the antenna.

In the overhead compartment, I added a shelf that added 50% to the space available for equipment. The input cable from the back of the RV goes to the output of an A/B switch. One side of the switch goes to the FR input selector box, the other side goes to the antenna side of the SWM power brick. The SWM power brick is then connectted to antenna 1 (or the only antenna connection) of the DTV box. The A/B switch allows the input from the back of the RV to go to the switchbox when I'm hooked up to a park's cable system or the SWM power box for the DTV system.

THe HDMI output of the DTV box goes to an Actiontec HDMI over wifi transmitter which feeds receivers on the main tv and the bedroom tv. Before I got the Actiontec devices, I ran the video output of the DTV box to an RF modulator which used the factory installed cabling to ship the signal to the televisions. I also added a Radio Shack RF booster to the output of the FR switchbox to make up for losses in the 4-way splitter behind the back wall of the overhead cabinet. An outlet strip in that cabinet makes it easy to shut everything off at once.

I never made any notifications to DTV about using the box in the RV. The only shortcoming is that the networks associated with local broadcast stations aren't received when more than ~50 miles from home. DTV has a "DNS" (Distant Network Service) available for an extra charge that will give you national coverage of the major networks using either the NY or LA (?SFO?) network feeds depending on your registered address for the account.

Phil
__________________
pmsherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2015, 06:43 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 11
Travl'r install

I'm having the travel'r for directv installed today in my 2015 364ts. They are running two lines from satellite. One direct into the compartment behind the TV above the galley and the second into the compartment above the passenger seat where the 3 way switch is located. We'll go line in from satellite to receiver to HDMI into TV for one above th galley and line in from satellite into the switch box. Because it's into the switch, I can then add a receiver from the coax outlet that feeds either the outside TV or one in the bedroom, correct?
__________________
cousin eddie johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2015, 10:24 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Western New York State
Posts: 902
pmsherman, My Allegro had a roof mounted sat dish. I too took my Direct TV receiver out of my home to use with it. In the second year Direct TV would "shut down" the receiver and I would have to call customer service for them to re-program the signal to my receiver. There CS sucks and it led to me dropping Direct and I would never go back to them. Should I get a dish for my GT I would go with Dish as they have packages for RV'ers that lets you pay monthly when you want to use or not.
__________________

__________________
sherman12
2011 Georgetown 330TS
Kia Sportage on MasterTow Dolly
sherman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.