Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2012, 05:59 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
go6car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 213
Agreed on Progressive. Lifetime warranty too. You can get a pole mount (with lock sold separately), or a hardwired unit.

I'm getting the hardwired on our new rig before we even pick it up:

Progressive Energy Management System 240Volt / 50Amp Hardwired w/ Remote Display
__________________

__________________
go6car is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 06:44 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
I use the hard wired 30 amps progressive bought form Lawrence RV. Attached is their website. 50 amp portable sells for $399.00.

Ecommerce Templates - Virtual Gadgets
__________________

__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 12:44 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
I have been looking at the Progessive direct wired model EMS-LCHW50.
It is only $254.47 on sale at Camping World.
What I like it comes with a digital readout, direct wired and has the same protection, MOV's as the $360 version of Surge Guard.

It also has a life time warranty as Surge Guard has only 1 year.
Looks like Progessive direct wired one is the direction I'm going now.
Here is a link to see the EMS-LCHW50
EMS-LCHW50C
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 05:10 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
go6car's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 213
In case anyone is wondering (because I was when I was looking at the two 50 amp Progressives since they 'look' the same) -- The only difference between that model and the one I posted in the earlier link is the readout display being on the unit, itself, vs being separate, where you can put it elsewhere.

Being able to put the viewer wherever you want in that storage bay comes in handy to be able to easily read it in case you have limited space to install the actual unit. I was afraid once it was installed, we would have a hard time seeing the display, hence us getting that model. Anyway just some more two cents! Can't go wrong with these units, either way!
__________________
go6car is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 09:17 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by go6car View Post
In case anyone is wondering (because I was when I was looking at the two 50 amp Progressives since they 'look' the same) -- The only difference between that model and the one I posted in the earlier link is the readout display being on the unit, itself, vs being separate, where you can put it elsewhere.

Being able to put the viewer wherever you want in that storage bay comes in handy to be able to easily read it in case you have limited space to install the actual unit. I was afraid once it was installed, we would have a hard time seeing the display, hence us getting that model. Anyway just some more two cents! Can't go wrong with these units, either way!
I'm getting the one with the screen on the unit. The way I figure I will be plugging in and withina few minutes it will active. By that time I should have the TV cable hooked up and the water line. After it is active I really won't look at it again until I have a power failure or have to disconnect. It does have a memory to show why the unit shut down previously. I don't have it yet as the delivery date is a few weeks from Camping World and drop shipped from the manufacturer.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 09:44 AM   #16
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Why I use both, surge protection and an autotransformer.

With these power controllers, as stated, your first indication of a problem is "shutdown." While this may save you from total system failure, it won't protect your microwave or airconditioner from a low voltage brown out (due to heavy use at the park) that does not drop below the cutout voltage (typically 104 volts).

105 VAC will destroy your air conditioner compressor over time and your magnetron may become unreliable or burn out due to higher than normal current from the low voltage.

An autotransformer will boost the incoming park voltage and keep it in the safe range (at the expense of current if it needs to do that). At a pretty high end resort in Miami (the one near the Everglades) there were so many campers running their ACs 24/7 that park power when we hooked up was at 108 volts. At 108 volts, I hooked up my Franks unit and it went right into high boost and voltage to the camper went right up to a comfortable 126 volts AC and my air conditioner ran perfectly.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 10:50 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
After it is active I really won't look at it again until I have a power failure or have to disconnect.
I would periodically check the readout to ensure that all is good with the power. I was at a campground one summer. I plugged in the unit and turned on the power. Everythng looked good so I turned off the brekers and plugged in. Turned the breakers on and all was still good. A day or so later I went out just to take a look and the unit was flashing a low voltage code. Just then, the AC's started to pop the breakers inside the coach. Reset the breakers on the pedestal and still showed low voltage (104volts). Notified the campground and had to move sites because their electrician couldn't fix the problem right away. I believe that the unit saved me a lot of problems. Seems that I have picked up electrical problems several times that the campground didn't know about - including Fort Wilderness and Hershey High Meadow.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 05:47 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 63
Saved Again

My Progessive model EMS-LCHW50 probally saved me again last weekend. Was at a campground and noted lower then desirable voltage at 108. Talked to the park owner and checked several other sites and they were all the same. Was assured that the voltage normally goes no lower. Next afternoon the unit starts dropping out, sometime for low voltage sometimes without indication. Called Progressive and left an afterhours message asking for help with the no indication outages. About an hour later recieved a return call from a tech that suggested the unit was picking up micro flucuations that amounted to little outages that the unit was picking up and timeout cycling. During the periods of low voltage I saw voltages down to 101 volts. Of course the unit would not allow anything below 104 in. Advised the campground of the situation and on Tuesday got an e-mail stating the power company was looking for a bad transformer that was causing low voltage in the area. Fact, fiction or whatever the camper was protected and Progressive impressed me with their afterhours service.
__________________
2007 Georgetown 373
Nutmeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 10:30 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 108
Installed my Progressive EMS today. Question???

Those who have installed the EMS, there is an option to have the unit delay start for 2 minutes for the air conditioner. The factory set is 15 seconds. The instructions tell you to check with the air conditioner mfg. to determine if the AC has the delay built in.... if not remove the jumper. So..., what do I do? Can't find anything on line if the AC has the delay or not. I'm assuming my Dometic AC has the built-in delay.
__________________
2012 Sabre 250RLUD
2011 GMC 1500 Sierra
Max Tow, 6.2, 3.73
Rod, Debbe 1 spoiled Chihuahua and Becky the cat
1Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 11:10 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 63
On my vintage (2007) Dometic the delay depended on the type of thermostat on the wall. I would check the thermostat lit. and if nothing call Dometic with your model numbers.
__________________

__________________
2007 Georgetown 373
Nutmeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led pad

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.