Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2013, 09:57 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
During trip questions

Okay... we're about 2/3's of the way to our destination; sitting in Nashville right now. We were driving down the road and the kitchen linoleum was bulging up while driving. Is this normal?? The kids were laughing at it and the DW is getting more and more pissed about the things that we're finding.

Secondly, we were heating something up in the microwave. My DW took it out to check on the temp. She put it back in to give it more time to heat up... however, the power to it was dead. No biggie! It MUST be a fuse blown. So I go to the breaker box under the bed and everything appears normal. For good measure, I flip it off and on again. Nothing. Then I kill the main breaker and flip everything back on. Nothing. So, just as my DW is cussing about the quality of this rig, it mysteriously turns back on. Can anyone think of any good reasons for this one?
__________________

__________________
Chris
Cumming, GA
2013 Georgetown 351DSF

http://curban.smugmug.com/Urban-Fami...rgetown-351DSF
ChrisMSNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:05 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMSNT View Post
Okay... we're about 2/3's of the way to our destination; sitting in Nashville right now. We were driving down the road and the kitchen linoleum was bulging up while driving. Is this normal?? The kids were laughing at it and the DW is getting more and more pissed about the things that we're finding.

Secondly, we were heating something up in the microwave. My DW took it out to check on the temp. She put it back in to give it more time to heat up... however, the power to it was dead. No biggie! It MUST be a fuse blown. So I go to the breaker box under the bed and everything appears normal. For good measure, I flip it off and on again. Nothing. Then I kill the main breaker and flip everything back on. Nothing. So, just as my DW is cussing about the quality of this rig, it mysteriously turns back on. Can anyone think of any good reasons for this one?
You've tripped the gfci for the microwave.
There should be a reset at your kitchen outlet .
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 411
Send a message via Skype™ to Falcon35
Ours did that Forest. River replaced it when we stopped in at Elkhart.
The new one has been fine.
__________________
2012 Georgetown 378TS Fire Mist
2008 Honda Fit
ReadyBrake™ Surge Brake System integrated with ReadyBrute™ Elite RV Tow Bar
Protect-A-Tow
Falcon35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:12 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
Thanks... I have two outlets in the kitchen denoted as GFCI however none of them have that "Test/Reset" button like home ones. The outlet that the microwave is plugged into is a single outlet in the back of the overhead cabinet. I don't see anywhere to "reset it". Although, my DW always tells me that when I'm looking for something I might as well be blind cause it's right in front of my face! :-)
__________________
Chris
Cumming, GA
2013 Georgetown 351DSF

http://curban.smugmug.com/Urban-Fami...rgetown-351DSF
ChrisMSNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
Thanks Falcon... it's back on now but I'm just worried about it shutting off for good and not coming back on. :-( How does it work in Elkhart? Do you need to make an appointment or do you just swing in?
__________________
Chris
Cumming, GA
2013 Georgetown 351DSF

http://curban.smugmug.com/Urban-Fami...rgetown-351DSF
ChrisMSNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:34 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMSNT View Post
Thanks... I have two outlets in the kitchen denoted as GFCI however none of them have that "Test/Reset" button like home ones. The outlet that the microwave is plugged into is a single outlet in the back of the overhead cabinet. I don't see anywhere to "reset it". Although, my DW always tells me that when I'm looking for something I might as well be blind cause it's right in front of my face! :-)
Gfci is probably in bathroom.
Or under overhead kitchen sink cabinets.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
I tested the bathroom GFCI (i.e. tripped it) and the microwave stayed on. Under the overhead sink cabinets is an outlet however it doesn't have the trip switch. Let's say that it was a GFCI trip, how did it reset itself? :-) Those things need to be manually switched back.
__________________
Chris
Cumming, GA
2013 Georgetown 351DSF

http://curban.smugmug.com/Urban-Fami...rgetown-351DSF
ChrisMSNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:43 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMSNT View Post
I tested the bathroom GFCI (i.e. tripped it) and the microwave stayed on. Under the overhead sink cabinets is an outlet however it doesn't have the trip switch. Let's say that it was a GFCI trip, how did it reset itself? :-) Those things need to be manually switched back.
You know its very possible the microwave isn't on a gfci circuit.
The breaker in the distribution panel may be it.

Your microwave may be going wonky.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 411
Send a message via Skype™ to Falcon35
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMSNT View Post
Thanks Falcon... it's back on now but I'm just worried about it shutting off for good and not coming back on. :-( How does it work in Elkhart? Do you need to make an appointment or do you just swing in?
We had a number of things that needed to be fixed and we were coming back from TX to ON. I called John Armstrong who was in charge of Georgetown warranty at that time and made an appointment. That is now looked after by Steve but I don't have his contact information with me as I'M not at home. I'm sure someone will chime in with that information. If not send me a message on next Monday and I'll send it to you. I had sent them a list of things I needed done and when got there I told them I thought we had a bad outlet they checked and when it was okay they replaced the microwave.
__________________
2012 Georgetown 378TS Fire Mist
2008 Honda Fit
ReadyBrake™ Surge Brake System integrated with ReadyBrute™ Elite RV Tow Bar
Protect-A-Tow
Falcon35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:14 PM   #10
NELA
 
Weezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisMSNT View Post
Thanks... I have two outlets in the kitchen denoted as GFCI however none of them have that "Test/Reset" button like home ones. The outlet that the microwave is plugged into is a single outlet in the back of the overhead cabinet. I don't see anywhere to "reset it". Although, my DW always tells me that when I'm looking for something I might as well be blind cause it's right in front of my face! :-)
What was the timer set on? I know my home microwave will do that if I try to bake potatoes in it......more than 10 minutes, etc.

It seems to overheat. Gotta let it sit and cool down, then it'll work again.

Add;

My home microwave will do that even sooner than 10 minutes if I use earthenware...like pottery, etc.
__________________

__________________

If age is a state of mind, and I've lost my mind, I'm AGELESS, right?
Give me 40 acres and I'll turn this rig around:
Flagstaff 5er 2014 8528 IKWS, Platinum Package, Regency Interior "Buffy"
F250 Super Duty 2013 Tuxedo Black "Biff"
Days camped 2014: 30
Weezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.