Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-21-2014, 09:55 PM   #11
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedjester View Post
All my outdoor plugs are GFI as well as all my garage plugs.. Something else yesterday it was plugged in all day on the same circuit as the electric fence without issue..( fence was on this morning) the of course the sprinklers are programmed to turn on in that zone at 5pm...I'm leaning toward the moisture tripping the gfi... Unless there is something in the coach that could be tripping it...Could something in the coach itself be tripping it???
All it takes to trip a GFI is moisture around the plug connections. It could be that simple.
__________________

__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 10:00 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 258
Well no rain in the near future.. Will shut the sprinklers in that zone off.. If it trips again then I have to look at something tripping it in the coach..

Thanks guys..I appreciate the help..
__________________

__________________
2010 Georgetown 300FWSSouth Florida
speedjester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 12:43 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 258
May have found my problem.. Outlet added by previous owner was questionable I twisted it and power to coach shut off.. Took cover plate off and found ground was rubbing on bare spot on neutral... Hope this was the issue..
__________________
2010 Georgetown 300FWSSouth Florida
speedjester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2014, 09:09 PM   #14
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew
 
elind's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Upper Penisula Michigan / Arizona
Posts: 2,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedjester View Post
May have found my problem.. Outlet added by previous owner was questionable I twisted it and power to coach shut off.. Took cover plate off and found ground was rubbing on bare spot on neutral... Hope this was the issue..
Good find!!! That could do it.
__________________
Ed & Ruthann / Toby and Tucker
2014 GMC Sierra Crewcab 2500 Duramax
2014 Wildcat 327ck
2015 129 nites
2016 63 nites
elind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 10:48 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 258
Well it happened again.. What I don't understand suit takes hrs before it trips... Kept it plugged in all day yesterday no issue... Woke up this morning tripped;(... If there was a short to ground wouldn't it trip instantly??? Nothing is on in the MH except the converter..
__________________
2010 Georgetown 300FWSSouth Florida
speedjester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 11:01 AM   #16
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,046
Do you have a Suburban water heater, and if so, is the oft hidden electric element switch on by any chance?

Suburban's electric switch and much more
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 11:06 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 258
Wmtire.. I have a suburban water heater but I believe it's just propane..
__________________
2010 Georgetown 300FWSSouth Florida
speedjester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 11:10 AM   #18
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedjester View Post
I believe it's just propane..
That's highly possible, but the link I provided above will show you where to check to make sure it's not electric, as well as propane.

The reason I pointed out this possibility is you may have a problem with the electric element side of the water heater.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 11:26 AM   #19
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Just an fyi for the op.

normal appliance amp draws
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2014, 08:04 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
jergeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Central upstate New York
Posts: 258
You mentioned you have a freezer on that same line as the motorhome, how many amps is that breaker? The freezer may be drawing almost max of the breaker then with the converter of the motorhome each time the freezer kicks on it trips the gfi or if the freezer is running and the converter jumps on gfi trips. Just a thought.
__________________

__________________
George & Jerri
06 GT 340 TSSE
USMC
jergeod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.