Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2015, 03:32 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Krazymace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sunriver, Oregon
Posts: 502
Electrical Issues

Wife & I are leaving next Mon for 3 months in AZ & So Cal. Normally I park my GT in driveway for ease of loading. However, when I plug it into a 20 amp GFI outlet on my front porch, it trips that GFI circuit. I plugged it into another GFI with same result. Then I ran my cord into the house and plugged into a non GFI outlet. That caused the breaker to trip on my house panel. I tried isolating the problem in my coach by shutting off all breakers including the main. As soon as I turn the main on, the GFI and or breaker on the house trips. Everything is fine if on 30 or 50 amp.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
Krazymace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 03:45 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,572
Little confusing, Have you tried it on a 30/50 circuit since you had this problem? Check to insure that the water heater switch us not on. If you energize the electric element in the WH without the WH being full of water, it will instantly burn out the element and short it. This will cause the RV to trip a GFI or breaker if plugged in.,
__________________

__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 03:56 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
BombDoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SC Lowcountry
Posts: 1,437
This type thing can drive you crazy. Something in your rig is causing a short and tripping your GFCI's and house breaker. I had a similar issue with my 5th Wheel. The exact same thing would happen when I plugged into 20amp shore power. I disconnected from shore power and went to the 5er, opened one slide, then plugged into 20amp. If it tripped, I unplugged, reset and opened the other slide, it didn't trip. I then crawled underneath to find one of the electrical wires had been stripped in the slide in and out process. I wrapped it with electrical tape and problem solved until I went to Annual Rally in Goshen and FR replaced the wiring harness. It took a while, to figure out what was tripping the breakers. Just be patient and you might be able to figure out what is causing the short. As FlyBob suggested, the WH would be a good start.
__________________
John & April & "Scout"
2013 Sabre 32RCTS-6
Nights Camped 2013-(44) 2014-(59) 2015-(47)
2016-(32) 2017-13
BombDoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 04:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bend302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bronston, KY
Posts: 686
It may be that you are simply pulling more than 20 amps. Water heater is 10-12A and converter pulls 7 or 8 A and refrigerator pulls 3 Amp. Then any plugged in AC items will try to turn on.

Make sure heaters, water heaters etc. are off then try again.

Bill
__________________

Life is a journey, not a destination.
2005 Georgetown 359ts
Bill & Virginia, Kentucky
Nights camped in 2011...78 , 2012...73,
Nights camped in 2013...123, 2014 ...101
bend302 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 04:43 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
You really shouldn't plug into a gfci.
With that being said your household outlets are 15 amp not 20.
You may be drawing to much juice.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 04:48 PM   #6
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
See the difference?
Attached Images
  
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 05:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Krazymace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sunriver, Oregon
Posts: 502
One thing I should have added. I have always been able to plug into a GFI before with no problems. Also, nothing is on in the MH. Thanks for replies. Wish I was an electrician!


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
Krazymace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 05:08 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Krazymace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sunriver, Oregon
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
You really shouldn't plug into a gfci.
With that being said your household outlets are 15 amp not 20.
You may be drawing to much juice.

I have a 20 amp for Xmas lites.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
Krazymace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 05:09 PM   #9
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Shut off all the breakers in you mh distribution panel then try plugging in.

If it doesn't trip then turn one on at a time till it does..
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 05:09 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krazymace View Post
I have a 20 amp for Xmas lites.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
Very good!
Normally that's not the case
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 PM.