Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2013, 11:14 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 143
Electrical outlets 110V in same circuit

In my 2013 350XL I noticed the wiring for ALL of the 110V electrical outlets are on the same circuit. With 5 TVs in this rig, this is very concerning. If I have 3 TVs on, and I got to plug in a toaster or coffee machine, the circuit trips. Anybody else having this problem or concern?
__________________

__________________
MGOBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 11:33 AM   #2
daydreaming about camping
 
jeeplj8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: KC area
Posts: 1,400
I think most coaches have all 110v wiring on a single circuit. I know we blow ours frequently, and have even tripped the campground 30 amp with the water heater running.

My long term plan is do a significant re-wire.
__________________

__________________

2013 Coachmen Freedom Express 320BHDS pulled by a 2005 F250 King Ranch CC

A rainy day camping is better than a sunny day at work.
jeeplj8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 11:34 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
gbpacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Brookfield, WI
Posts: 192
My experience is that most trailer manufacturer wire the 110V outlets as you have described. Depending on your trailer, you may have empty breaker slots that you could wire some of the outlets to.

The 110V outlets on my Rockwood Roo 23SS are all connected to a single breaker. When I need to run an electric heater, I use a separate extension cord plugged into the power pole. This provides a separate circuit for the heater, which allows me to use the coffee maker without unplugging the heater.
__________________
gbpacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 11:56 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,329
Most larger campers have 2 - 120V circuits with 30A service. In ours the kitchen is on 1 circuit, the front of the camper is on a 2nd circuit along with the converter.

Your Georgetown is 50A, correct? That would mean that you have 2 50A 120V busses in the power center. Even if you're only plugged into 30A service both busses would be powered but limited to 30A total. It would be very hard to believe that all the 120V outlets are wired on only 1 of the 2 busses.

Dave
__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 12:05 PM   #5
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGOBlue View Post
In my 2013 350XL I noticed the wiring for ALL of the 110V electrical outlets are on the same circuit. With 5 TVs in this rig, this is very concerning. If I have 3 TVs on, and I got to plug in a toaster or coffee machine, the circuit trips. Anybody else having this problem or concern?
Receptacles in your kitchen will be on the GFIC Circuit and the TVs will be on the other 20 amp breaker. If you're using the receptacle at the dinette though it will be on the same circuit as the TVs.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 12:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Monica View Post
Most larger campers have 2 - 120V circuits with 30A service. In ours the kitchen is on 1 circuit, the front of the camper is on a 2nd circuit along with the converter.

Your Georgetown is 50A, correct? That would mean that you have 2 50A 120V busses in the power center. Even if you're only plugged into 30A service both busses would be powered but limited to 30A total. It would be very hard to believe that all the 120V outlets are wired on only 1 of the 2 busses.

Dave
I have owned 2 TTs (27ft & 30ft) and both had 2 circuits. Most recently I had 32ft FW and that had 2 circuits. Both the FW and TTs were 30A service. Now I move up to a 37Ft MH with 50A service and only one circuit for all outlets. I'm hoping FR will do something about it. if not, I'm going to Master Tech in the spring to have it re-wired appropriately.
__________________
MGOBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 12:22 PM   #7
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
In my 2007 Georgetown FR wired all of the regular 120 volt receptacles in the bedroom, entertainment areas and near the dinette on the same 20 amp breaker. The receptacles in the bathroom, kitchen and outside compartment are on another 20 amp breaker that run through the GFIC Receptacle. The double pole 50 amp breaker divided the panel with [1] AC Unit, Microwave and Receptacles on one side and [1] AC Unit, Water Heater and GFIC Receptacles on the other side. Is your unit different from this set-up?
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 04:26 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGOBlue View Post
In my 2013 350XL I noticed the wiring for ALL of the 110V electrical outlets are on the same circuit. With 5 TVs in this rig, this is very concerning. If I have 3 TVs on, and I got to plug in a toaster or coffee machine, the circuit trips. Anybody else having this problem or concern?
WOW! FIVE TV's on at the same time. Big family and lots of noise.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 04:31 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 143
Believe me...I know!! 3 girls...enough said! We haven't had all 5 on at the same time yet. I'm not sure the circuit could handle it.
__________________
MGOBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:46 PM   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
Dave_Monica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by MGOBlue View Post
I have owned 2 TTs (27ft & 30ft) and both had 2 circuits. Most recently I had 32ft FW and that had 2 circuits. Both the FW and TTs were 30A service. Now I move up to a 37Ft MH with 50A service and only one circuit for all outlets. I'm hoping FR will do something about it. if not, I'm going to Master Tech in the spring to have it re-wired appropriately.
You should contact Forest River, that definitely isn't wired right.

Dave
__________________

__________________


Nights camped in 2013 - 55, 2014 - 105, 2015 - 63
Dave_Monica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
110v

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 PM.