Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-31-2015, 12:20 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: hurricane, ut
Posts: 12
Electrical problems

Hi folks. I have a 2014 Georgetown XL 378TS
Last night my wife put a toaster oven on the same circuit as the oil heater. They were both on the kitchen circuit. After about three minutes the breaker tripped. I was at work so advised her to use the dining room circuit until I got home.
I reset the breaker but still no electric. The bath GFCI on the same circuit was not tripped.
Anyone run into this before...I'm thinking there's some other fuse, CB, GFCI, whatever down the line but can't find it.
Thanks! ...and keep warm!
__________________

__________________
downlocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 03:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wherever we are parked!
Posts: 423
Do you have power at the GFCI? GFCIs can be semi sensitive to large power surges and it may appear to reset but it really doesn't.
__________________

__________________
Lostdog
2011 Georgetown 378TS in FireMist
2013 Jeep Wrangler Toad
Kirby the Old Dog, passed but still in our hearts
Max E. Dog, the new pup
Eureka the Old Cat, still hangin' on
Lostdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 03:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,559
Can't remember for sure but isn't there a power receptacle behind the lift up kitchen counter extension? A GFCI type? Maybe not.
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 03:13 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: hurricane, ut
Posts: 12
Thanks for the replies Bubbles and Lost Dog. There is no power at the bath GFCI outlet and the outlet beneath the lift up counter is tied into the bath so it's on the GFCI circuit but is not a GFCI plug.
__________________
downlocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 03:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,559
Just one other thought. Did you fully reset the CB to off then to on instead of just to on? I'm done.
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 03:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
hammer55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: central valley, california
Posts: 455
is the outside gfi different circuit or the same, otherwise you will have to pull the plugs apart and check the connections, the way they throw these together they might have come lose with the heat of the circuit just a thought
__________________
Mark & Annie
2014 COACHMEN PURSUIT 27 KB
Modesto, Central California
hammer55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 04:49 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: hurricane, ut
Posts: 12
Thanks, yes, I did fully reset breaker and the outside plug is on same circuit but cannot be reset. I will try pulling GFCI and testing, then pulling CB and testing.
__________________
downlocked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 05:03 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by downlocked View Post
Thanks, yes, I did fully reset breaker and the outside plug is on same circuit but cannot be reset. I will try pulling GFCI and testing, then pulling CB and testing.
Have you checked the campground plug?
You may have tripped one of the two breakers.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2015, 05:30 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
CSMRetired's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: N. Central Texas
Posts: 1,102
Might want to try your invertor as well, if your entertainment circuits are dead.....that would be where I would look



We had no power to anything that was run through the invertor due to shorted connections at the invertor itself.......just a suggestion
__________________

'Pa Pa's Palace'

2014 Sportscoach Crosscountry 405FK
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
CSMRetired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 03:04 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
ramair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 630
I had this happen once and I reset the GFI plug and then tripped it and hit reset and everything worked fine and never had an issue again.
__________________

__________________
Andrew & Donna Reyes
2012 Georgetown 378XL
2015 Ford Taurus
&
Our Baby Dachshund
Cammie
ramair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.