Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2010, 11:05 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
If the PCM controls the ground to the AC clutch relay, then your diagram in post #7 is useless, as it shows a hard ground to the clutch relay. I'm not trying to argue with success, glad they found something. I just don't see the PCM anywhere in the wiring diagram. Just making a note for those in the future, this wring diagram is missing something.
__________________

__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 11:25 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
NWJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 2,617
Well, way to make things even more complicated Ford! Why in the world do they need the computer to control the ground. In most A/C applications the ground is just that, a ground! The 12 volt power to the clutch is switched on and off as needed for the sytem to work.

Give me simple and stop controlling everything with the stinking computer!
__________________

__________________
"I can fix it, and if I can't fix it, I can fix it so no one can fix it!"
Ed & Wendy
2009 Georgetown 378TS | 1998 Jeep Wrangler | 1998 Skeeter ZX202C
Nights camped in 2009: 53 | Nights camped in 2010: 55
www.nwjeepn.com
NWJeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 11:43 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
Windrider - keep in mind that the wiring diagram is just for the 3rd party A/C system. In the note in the upper right of the diagram it basically says that the "dashed" lines are illustrative of parts that may be found on the chassis side of the vehicle. Ford did say that the diagram was only somewhat helpful in that the colors of the wires were apparently different.

I too have no idea why a PCM would need to control the ground to a relay for the A/C unless there is something in the engine programming where in certain situations if there is a significant loss of engine power the PCM will shut down all but the most essential components to keep the engine running so that you can at least limp home.
__________________
blightle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 11:57 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 2,381
Being "new", probably "CAN" and not OBD II, the PCM will control essential functions, even switch to 4 or 5 cylinders in case of overheat, and shut the AC off. It will also shut the AC under full acceleration. They have been doing this a few years. They usually do this with the AC control feeding the PCM, and the PCM feeding the clutch relay. Regardless, the clutch "ground" in the diagram must be wired back to the pcm, and is not a hard ground. I'm not trying to confuse, just help those that do their own work, and may reference this post in the future.
__________________
LadyWindrider
2012 Ford F250 ext. Cab 4x4
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 01:02 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
TulsaSteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by NWJeeper View Post
Give me simple and stop controlling everything with the stinking computer!
This gave me a good laugh. I went down a 4.5% grade a few days ago and barely touched the brakes. The computer was working the transmission / engine like a dream and I just walked right down the hill while others were struggling.

Computers.. Can't live with em'... Can't turn em' off because we can't remember what happens if we do...

__________________
TulsaSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 08:49 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SW of NE Arkansas
Posts: 116
Well I am about to take my 330TS in for a few items to be fixed after our 2nd trip out. One is the dash air is not working. I have printed off the schematics posted above to take with me and hope it will help. The thing that gets me is we forgot to check the dash air when we did our PDI. I can only guess is because it was cold when we took delivery and did not even think to check it. Yes it was on the PDI and I just had a brain F__T and did not check it off. Oh well its like they always say.
__________________
ArkyGeorgetown330TS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 12:52 PM   #17
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArkyGeorgetown330TS View Post
Well I am about to take my 330TS in for a few items to be fixed after our 2nd trip out. One is the dash air is not working. I have printed off the schematics posted above to take with me and hope it will help. The thing that gets me is we forgot to check the dash air when we did our PDI. I can only guess is because it was cold when we took delivery and did not even think to check it. Yes it was on the PDI and I just had a brain F__T and did not check it off. Oh well its like they always say.
Gotta be careful with those Brain F_ _ Ts, that where S_ _ tty ideas come from!

Good luck with the AC! Hopefully it will be something simple.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 08:50 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 155
Evans Tempcon Manuals/Guides

The following site provides complete manuals/troubleshooting guides for Evans Tempcon including the FR provided schematic ( with explanation ) posted earlier. Good information to have.


Evans Tempcon, Inc
__________________
mbtelguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 10:13 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
So I started this thread about a month ago and finally have a resolution on why my factory A/C would not work in my 2011 Georgetown. Ford spent almost 3 weeks working on my Georgetown. Numerous calls to Engineering in Detroit, calls to techs at Forest River about the wiring of the Evans Tempcon 3rd party A/C system, etc. Nothing was showing up as a problem. At one point Ford thought it was a bad PCM but after ordering a new one, later determined that the PCM was not the issue. Finally on Monday, they were running tests again and the PCM threw an error code for the first time. Turns out that the low pressure switch was bad. Never showed up in all the times they had run the test before but it must have deteriorated to the point that it would send a trouble code or something. Must have been a new pressure switch design for 2011 because they had to have the switch overnighted from Detroit. Got it this morning, installed it and now the A/C is ice cold - finally. Just in time for Memorial Day Weekend and our first real outing with the RV.
__________________

__________________
blightle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.