Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2012, 11:29 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seal Beach, Ca.
Posts: 171
Fireplace problem

Seems like everytime I turn the fireplace on to generate heat, the breaker trips. I can turn on the part of the fireplace that only gives off the light show of flames but can't use it for heat.

Has anyone had this problem? How did you fix it? It's winter now and would really like to use the fireplace for heat. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
georgetown50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 11:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: oregon
Posts: 204
fireplace

Quote:
Originally Posted by georgetown50 View Post
Seems like everytime I turn the fireplace on to generate heat, the breaker trips. I can turn on the part of the fireplace that only gives off the light show of flames but can't use it for heat.

Has anyone had this problem? How did you fix it? It's winter now and would really like to use the fireplace for heat. Thanks.
i am on my second one ,first one shuts off all the time,forestriver send dealer a new one and works fine.forestriver wanted me to drill 3 inch hole in side of cabinet for more air and i said no.i tested the new one and old one on bench in shop.the old one just shut off after a while junk. new one ran for for 4 hours, i installed this one and is working fine.
__________________

__________________
petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 10:58 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wherever we are parked!
Posts: 423
Ours works ok, but rattles alot going down the road. Anybody else have this problem?
__________________
Lostdog
2011 Georgetown 378TS in FireMist
2013 Jeep Wrangler Toad
Kirby the Old Dog, passed but still in our hearts
Max E. Dog, the new pup
Eureka the Old Cat, still hangin' on
Lostdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 12:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seal Beach, Ca.
Posts: 171
Fireplace

Quote:
Originally Posted by petey View Post
i am on my second one ,first one shuts off all the time,forestriver send dealer a new one and works fine.forestriver wanted me to drill 3 inch hole in side of cabinet for more air and i said no.i tested the new one and old one on bench in shop.the old one just shut off after a while junk. new one ran for for 4 hours, i installed this one and is working fine.
This is still my first one but I did have a technician come work on it. Whatever he did, it still isn't quite fixed. I guess the problem is that it does work but the RV doesn't like the fact fireplace is draining so much power. What's strange is that I have all other appliances, TV off and it still trips the breaker. IT doesn't make sense.
__________________
georgetown50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 04:13 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 125
Lostdog - We had the rattle problem too when we test drove our 378 ts. The rattle was caused by the fireplace glass front, which the dealer fixed before we picked it up. Doesn't seem to rattle now at all.
__________________
ohiobill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 05:59 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Lostdog- We noticed this same rattle problem too when we drove our 378 GT home from the dealer. We removed the glass and put a strip of rubber tape around the edge of the glass. This tape is thin enough you won't see it after the glass is put back in. Did the Job!

The only problem I continue to have is main switch still trips when using the leveling jacks. I go by the owners book and use blocking
__________________
georgetownpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 08:49 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wherever we are parked!
Posts: 423
Lostdog- We noticed this same rattle problem too when we drove our 378 GT home from the dealer. We removed the glass and put a strip of rubber tape around the edge of the glass. This tape is thin enough you won't see it after the glass is put back in. Did the Job!

Great idea....I will work on this during the weekend! Thanks......
__________________
Lostdog
2011 Georgetown 378TS in FireMist
2013 Jeep Wrangler Toad
Kirby the Old Dog, passed but still in our hearts
Max E. Dog, the new pup
Eureka the Old Cat, still hangin' on
Lostdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 07:49 AM   #8
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by georgetown50 View Post
Seems like every time I turn the fireplace on to generate heat, the breaker trips. I can turn on the part of the fireplace that only gives off the light show of flames but can't use it for heat.

Has anyone had this problem? How did you fix it? It's winter now and would really like to use the fireplace for heat. Thanks.
I'm not familiar with the fireplace set but there's a couple things to check electrically. Is the fireplace of it's own dedicated breaker? If so what amp rating is the breaker? AMP rating for fireplace should be listed in the paperwork or at least available on line. Check to be sure proper breaker has been installed. You may want to replace the breaker, it may be bad! If your panel is the same as mine the breakers are Homeline. They are available at Home Depot or Lowes. Under $10 for a 15 or 20 AMP single pole breaker. I'd start there! Good luck and let us know what you find.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2012, 09:52 AM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
That "fireplace" draws a LOT of AC amps.
(1500 watts = 12.5 amps on a 15 amp circuit)

What else is on it's circuit in your camper?

My camper has a microwave/fireplace switch to avoid using both at the same time. That would not only blow the circuit fuse but I could easily go over my 30 amp main.
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 07:55 AM   #10
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 6,729
As many have said, it's probably the glass rattling.
I'm thinking clear silicone around the edges but tape is gonna work too
unless it releases when hot.

Also as mentioned, most RV breakers are just home style plug in breakers.
Get a replacement from any major home store or hardware store.
Get the SAME size.
Probably 15 amp.
It's possible you're original breaker is weak and tripping too soon.
As Lou said, the amps draw from a 1500 watt heater is close
but not over the rating on a 15 amp breaker.
It should not trip if everything else is off and the heater and wiring
are not faulty.

Good luck!
__________________

__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2004 5.3L Silverado 1500 ext. cab 2WD
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch, AirLift load levelers

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41,
2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.