Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-01-2014, 05:49 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
buddyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 222
Freezing Point

I have to leave my MH out tonight without power. The temperature will range from 29 - 32 degrees. Should the pipes be safe or should I run the generator and heat?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
buddyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 06:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Capt. Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Franklin County, MO
Posts: 1,738
Quote:
Originally Posted by buddyu View Post
I have to leave my MH out tonight without power. The temperature will range from 29 - 32 degrees. Should the pipes be safe or should I run the generator and heat?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
You should be OK for one night, but turn the water pump off and open all the faucets. That way, if the water in the lines would start to freeze and expand, there will be some relief so it won't break the lines. I wouldn't do this all winter, but for one night with temps in that range, you shouldn't have any damage.
__________________

__________________
Mike and Yvonne
and Sophie, the little white dog
2017 Columbus 320RSC
2015 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Duramax 4X4
“It's not how old you are, it's how you are old.”Jules Renard
"It's not the years...it's the mileage." - Indiana Jones
Capt. Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 06:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BillMFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 498
It only takes an extension cord for the few amps it takes to run your furnace. Or set the thermostat at about 60 and run the furnace on the house batteries and get up in the wee hours and run the generator long enough to recharge. 32 isn't a big threat for more than a few hours, but 29 could be depending on how long the temp stays that low.
__________________
BillMFl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 07:14 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
buddyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 222
I have heard before that I could run it off an extension cord but where is the male on the unit where I would attach the cord too?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
buddyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 07:43 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,318
Go to Wally World. Get a 50 to 30 adapter then get a 30 to 15 adapter. A 15 amp extension cord wouldn't hurt to have around either.


2014 Stealth Evo 2850 "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7 "Clifford"
__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 08:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
buddyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 222
Thanks everyone. This forum has always been extremely helpful.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
buddyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2014, 08:59 PM   #7
Cyber Phrenologist
 
Radio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt. Mike View Post
You should be OK for one night, but turn the water pump off and open all the faucets.
Yep...

The lines are flexible enough that a bit of freezing will likely not damage them. Usually when there is freeze damage in an RV it's the fixtures and valves. Opening the valves/faucets lets most of the water escape and what's left has a place to expand into.

Rig up whatever extension cord adapter you need so you can run a small space heater in the RV. Also nice for pre-chilling the fridge and keeping batteries topped off.

I made my own 30 to 15 adapter. And use a rather heavy cord.
__________________
KU4OJ
Admin at www.openroadsradio.net, part of the Social Knowledge network.
"RVing and Amateur Radio served up on the same plate"
2008 (or is it 2009?) Rockwood 8280SS - 2007 F-150
Lot's of mostly Kenwood radios

Radio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 09:34 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Whitehouse, Texas
Posts: 693
Most battery converter/charger has a 110 volt power cord. You can attach the extension cord to the converter/charger. Usually located were the power cord goes into the coach. My converter has a 110 volt plug connected to it and runs about 2 feet to a 110 volt receptacle.
The converter will keep the batteries changed up. Make sure it is a heavy and short as possible extension cord.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
2013 Georgetown XL 378
2008 Honda CR-V
wrapperman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36 AM.