Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2013, 08:46 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Newellri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 280
I will admit it scared the crap out of me, just coming into Des Moines during rush hour and the front shade blocking the road view!!
__________________

__________________
Newellri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 09:25 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
intercept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 150
Hi, the shade seems to be loosing power on an intermittent basis. When this happens you will lose memory. When the power comes back all bets are off on what happens next. The shade is powered by F16 in the fuse panel on the inside firewall by the drivers left foot. That fuse also powers the radio memory and the radio when the ignition is off. You could have a loose fuse but if your luck is like mine it will be a loose wire connection. If you can get to the feed at the shade with a 12 volt test light and take it for a bumpy road or hit it with a big hammer you may be able to verify it. It could however have a bad shade too. If the test light stays on when the shade acts up it will be internal to the shade. Let us know!!! This is a serious safety issue. I am glad no one has been hurt yet.
Thanks for the update, John
__________________

__________________
intercept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 12:23 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Newellri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 280
I suspect it has a bad switch, sometime when I hit the down it goes down slow and jerky. Low voltage will make it lose its memory.
__________________
Newellri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 07:38 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
copsuno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 277
Try this MCD innovations. Most likely they made the front shade, google and down load the PDF for operation. If no change from my 2011 there is a push button on two wires on drivers side windshield column. You have to have someone light weight to get on dash, press and hold button while you work the dash switch for shade. You have to lower all way down to dash, release both the push button and dash switch. Now push button and hit up side of dash switch to raise it up to top. release both again, this procedure is done with engine off and key out. Now you put key in turn ignition on and do same with engine running and lower shade to proper height for sun blocking and then release, the press both and raise to top. you are done., enjoy.
__________________
Logic will carry you from point A to point B. Imagination will carry you everywhere. "Albert Einstein". 2011 Georgetown 360, Bride of 45yrs, and 2014 Chev Equinox toad, what more could you ask for.
copsuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 07:43 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
copsuno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 277
I have just started to have a new problem with mine, on rough roads, the shade drops a little at a time until I have to pull over and reset again. BTW if shade will not move when you try to raise, you have to hold both the dash switch and button for at least a 5 count and release, this puts shade in learning mode, although mine is apparently a slow learner.
__________________
Logic will carry you from point A to point B. Imagination will carry you everywhere. "Albert Einstein". 2011 Georgetown 360, Bride of 45yrs, and 2014 Chev Equinox toad, what more could you ask for.
copsuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 08:52 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wherever we are parked!
Posts: 423
I finally gave up on our MCD shade memory. Reset it numerous times using the factory procedure and the memory would never hold. Finally bought a new motor/memory assembly and installed it. No more problems and the shade works great, just as advertised.
__________________
Lostdog
2011 Georgetown 378TS in FireMist
2013 Jeep Wrangler Toad
Kirby the Old Dog, passed but still in our hearts
Max E. Dog, the new pup
Eureka the Old Cat, still hangin' on
Lostdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 09:35 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Newellri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 280
How much trouble to install new motor? Thanks
__________________
Newellri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 09:22 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wherever we are parked!
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newellri View Post
How much trouble to install new motor? Thanks
Sorry, don't know how hard to install. Had the MH in for other maintenance and just asked the service folks to install the motor for me. It only took the tech about 10 minutes though. At least I only paid for 10 minutes!!!!
__________________
Lostdog
2011 Georgetown 378TS in FireMist
2013 Jeep Wrangler Toad
Kirby the Old Dog, passed but still in our hearts
Max E. Dog, the new pup
Eureka the Old Cat, still hangin' on
Lostdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 09:08 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
abjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Newellri View Post
I suspect it has a bad switch, sometime when I hit the down it goes down slow and jerky. Low voltage will make it lose its memory.
Ours was doing that.
I took it apart and found one wire rubbed completely apart (it would make contact every once in a while causing jerking and or working at times), another was damaged.
A little solder, a little heat shrink and a little retraining and all is well...till it rubs again....poor design.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Newellri View Post
How much trouble to install new motor? Thanks
It comes down and apart easy, 5 or 6 screws hold it in place and 2 screws hold the motor in.
It's the training that's easy AFTER you learn how to read the training instructions.

Hint: Once you get one position trained and start to train the next DO NOT let go of the down/up button till the shade is close to the position you want. If you let go of it the shade will only move 1" per push of the button.

ab&jb
__________________
2012 Georgetown 360
SHE wanted "a new motorhome"
abjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 09:21 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
Newellri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 280
Thanks, mine comes down and up very slow and jerky. The info said at less than 11 volts it would loose its memory, mine lost its memory again. Grrrr
__________________

__________________
Newellri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.