Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-24-2010, 09:43 PM   #1

Gas saving mods on your Georgetown

What have you done to your Georgetown to save gas and money at the pump. I am new to the class A and would like ideas to save gas and money. There are alot of prducts out there that they sell but what really works to save gas.
texasgeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 07:41 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

The best way to save gas is never turn the key in the ignition. All kidding aside, you'll never save enough in gas to pay for all the "gimmicks" you could buy, that don't do anything but add weight. Save your money to buy gas with. That's my two cents, others will have theirs.
2008 Yamaha V-Star 650 Classic

2008 Work and Play 18LT
LadyWindrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 08:39 AM   #3
CLASS "A" Senior Member

Best way to save gas is stick to the speed limit. Anything over 65 constantly and the fuel is just flowing through. Set up your hills, get a good run at them so you have the momentum to get to the top without needing to floor it.
I bought the Banks Cold Air Intake System, big K&N Air Cleaner set-up. Didn't buy it for the thought of saving gas. I wanted it to help when climbing hills for a better response without turning 4500 RPMs to maintain speed. So far I'm very pleased with it. My RPMs are lower when climbing the hills but it goes back to setting up that climb also. I believe I've gotten better as a driver doing this. Oh course there's always that one other driver that will cut right in front of you and slow down. Momentum goes out the window. This is where the Banks kit helps.

Only sure fire way to save gas- Windrider stated it - Don't turn the key, but that's not what we bought these things for.