Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2013, 08:17 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
jvish33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 23
Gen set issue on the 351dsf

Picked up the new 351dsf on sat. Over all everything is good except when I got it home I started the Gen Set and it ran for about 5 min then shut off. Cant get it to start again. ?? Dosent seem like its getting fuel. I have plenty of gas in the tank (Half tank). Followed all the starting instructions. Same as the one I had in the C except its a 5500. Any suggestions?

Other then that all is well. Tested all the other systems with no issue.
And yes you guys were right. Very easy to drive!
__________________

__________________
jvish33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 09:01 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvish33 View Post
Picked up the new 351dsf on sat. Over all everything is good except when I got it home I started the Gen Set and it ran for about 5 min then shut off. Cant get it to start again. ?? Dosent seem like its getting fuel. I have plenty of gas in the tank (Half tank). Followed all the starting instructions. Same as the one I had in the C except its a 5500. Any suggestions?

Other then that all is well. Tested all the other systems with no issue.
And yes you guys were right. Very easy to drive!
Congrats on the new Geeorgetown. Spend as much time as you can learning and finding all you can about your new MH. PLug it in to and see how things work before you leave home for your first trip.

Now for your question I must ask you a few questions.
Is the house batteries fully charged?
Are you plugged into shore power to charge the batteries?
Is your master battery switch on?

Good Luck


If it cranks but won't start maybe the dealer needs to check it out.
__________________

__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 10:47 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
jvish33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
Congrats on the new Geeorgetown. Spend as much time as you can learning and finding all you can about your new MH. PLug it in to and see how things work before you leave home for your first trip.

Now for your question I must ask you a few questions.
Is the house batteries fully charged?
Are you plugged into shore power to charge the batteries?
Is your master battery switch on?

Good Luck


If it cranks but won't start maybe the dealer needs to check it out.
Thanks Iggy
yes bats are charged. I am not pluged in wile trying to start....
does crank but no go. Ran for about 5 min then shut down..
I am going to call the dealer today.
__________________
jvish33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 12:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,328
Just throwing this out for consideration........

You mention you have plenty of gas (1/2 tank). Is the motorhome level? If not, it's possible the fuel drawing tube for the generator is not actually immersed in the gas available. Also, not all fuel gauges are created equal. Is there really that much gas in the tank? It's a brand new rig. Do you really know, or just going by the needle on the dash?

Just saying.............

Could just fill it up and be sure, then retry the generator.
__________________

Ken and Terry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 01:04 PM   #5
Member
 
lochsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 92
Yep, my generator exhibits the exact same behavior on my 330ts when I'm below or at 1/4 tank mark. I'd add a few more gallons of fuel for the heck of it.
__________________
lochsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 01:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Quote:
Originally Posted by lochsa View Post
Yep, my generator exhibits the exact same behavior on my 330ts when I'm below or at 1/4 tank mark. I'd add a few more gallons of fuel for the heck of it.
YES never let your gas tank get below 1/4 of a tank as the generator pickup tube is at that level. It may suck air until you add some fuel.
This is designed that way just in case you need to drive some where in an emergency. It stops you from running the tank dry by using the generator.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:14 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
jvish33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenandterry View Post
Just throwing this out for consideration........

You mention you have plenty of gas (1/2 tank). Is the motorhome level? If not, it's possible the fuel drawing tube for the generator is not actually immersed in the gas available. Also, not all fuel gauges are created equal. Is there really that much gas in the tank? It's a brand new rig. Do you really know, or just going by the needle on the dash?

Just saying.............

Could just fill it up and be sure, then retry the generator.
Ok Just to be clear.. I have a little over a Half a tank of gas. I am aware of the shut off point. Thats not it.

Rig is level

I checked the 7.5 fuse that is in line with the gen fuel pump and also cleaned the contacts on the connector wires coming from the pump.. Still no go. I should be able to hear the "clicking" noise from the pump wile it is priming. I am not.

Soo... I have a bad fuel pump from the factory. I guess dealer didnt run it wile doing his checks...

Not sure what else it could be.
__________________
jvish33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:35 PM   #8
Member
 
Eric52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 46
When I received my 350 ts I used the generator also and had the same problem. It shut down because the oil level was low. There was less than a 1/2 liter. There is a low oil shut off. You may need to just add some oil. You should also check that your slide out reservoir is full also.
__________________
Eric52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 02:45 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
jvish33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric52 View Post
When I received my 350 ts I used the generator also and had the same problem. It shut down because the oil level was low. There was less than a 1/2 liter. There is a low oil shut off. You may need to just add some oil. You should also check that your slide out reservoir is full also.
I checked that as well... looks good. In the safe zone or full area but not way up the stick if you know what I mean. also after I over crank it... It gives me a error code 2 (low oil)... but figured it was ok beacuse of the level on the stick... but I am going to try and add a little more Oil.

thanks!!!!
__________________
jvish33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 04:09 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
jvish33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 23
Not oil.. added some and no go. Dealer agrees that it is the fuel pump to the gen set... bad.
Oh well things happen.. will get it fixed

thanks all for your help!!!
__________________

__________________
jvish33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.