Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2014, 08:15 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 94
Generator Hour Meter

I just noticed something very perplexing !! We have had our 377 for 5 weeks. The hour meter had 5.7 on it when we picked it up and I have run the genset maybe 1.5 hours total. It now reads 75.9 and is slowly going to turn 76.0 ??? I am plugged into a 20amp circuit at home to clean and wash it before it goes to our covered storage! Any ideas???

Denny


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
DennyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 08:28 PM   #2
B47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 6,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by DennyH View Post
I just noticed something very perplexing !! We have had our 377 for 5 weeks. The hour meter had 5.7 on it when we picked it up and I have run the genset maybe 1.5 hours total. It now reads 75.9 and is slowly going to turn 76.0 ??? I am plugged into a 20amp circuit at home to clean and wash it before it goes to our covered storage! Any ideas???

Denny


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Most HM I'm familiar with such as those on rental aircraft for the purpose of charging usage time are activated by oil pressure when the engine is started.

I'm a little curious that the number 5 is in both (5.7) and (75.9) readings. Perhaps the counter is stuck.

Just grab a brewski and sit and watch it for awhile and see what it does.

If you do have to replace it,remember to note the time displayed on it for future readings.
__________________

__________________
B47 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 10:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by DennyH View Post
I just noticed something very perplexing !! We have had our 377 for 5 weeks. The hour meter had 5.7 on it when we picked it up and I have run the genset maybe 1.5 hours total. It now reads 75.9 and is slowly going to turn 76.0 ??? I am plugged into a 20amp circuit at home to clean and wash it before it goes to our covered storage! Any ideas???
Denny

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Mine did the same thing.
It went from 30 hours to 76 hours and I only ran it for about 4-6 hours between those numbers.

If you want to replace it and start at zero again here is a good source.
Allied Electronics
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 10:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
Mine did the same thing.
It went from 30 hours to 76 hours and I only ran it for about 4-6 hours between those numbers.

If you want to replace it and start at zero again here is a good source.
Allied Electronics

I'm assuming I need the 12v model??



Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
DennyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 11:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by DennyH View Post
I'm assuming I need the 12v model??

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
The model I linked works on 10 volts DC to 30 volts DC.
It will work on 12 VDC.

Does yours look like the one I linked?
It is what I have in my 2012 378TS XL Georgetown
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 11:11 PM   #6
B47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 6,029
Ok - I have an question.

Everything I'm reading here indicates that this HM is recording the time the MH is plugged into electrical power even if it's not recording.

If correct,then what use is it? All HM's I'm familiar with record the running time of the unit it's installed on.
__________________
B47 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 11:13 PM   #7
B47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 6,029
Sorry meant to say "when it's not running."
__________________
B47 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 11:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 94
Hmmmmm


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
DennyH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 11:38 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,360
No this measures the run time of the generator and has no interconnect to shore power.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2014, 11:48 PM   #10
B47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 6,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
No this measures the run time of the generator and has no interconnect to shore power.
Ok - now more confused. The OP indicates in his post that the gen has run a short time and the HM is still recording hours.

So if the HM is not interconnected to shore power and doesn't record shore power time (which is what I stated before) then why is it still recording time?
__________________

__________________
B47 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.