Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2015, 01:19 PM   #1
Member
 
George-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 32
Georgetown Factory Horn Not Working

The factory(Ford) horn on our 2007 Georgetown SE 315 with the F53 chassis stopped working. I replaced the relay under the hood and the 20 AMP fuse. I removed the power plug to the horn and pressed the horn and with a gauge on the cable and there was no power going to the horn. I removed the horn from the steering wheel and connected the two pins in the steering column and still nothing. Is there more than one fuse in the line for the horn?
__________________

__________________
George-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 01:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Check the ground connections below the horns on the vertical post.
In the past this ground connection has become bad and needs to be cleaned and reattached.
Here are a few pics that others have posted.


The only other things I can think of is to test the horns by taking a positive 12 vdc to the horn terminal pin and test
Good luck
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Grnd%20wire%20that%20was%20loose.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	80455  
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 01:54 PM   #3
Member
 
George-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 32
Georgetown Factory Horn Not working

Thank you, will try that this weekend.
__________________
George-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2015, 10:54 PM   #4
2006 Georgetown 340
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Troy OH
Posts: 90
Has anyone ever replaced their factory horns with something a little more beefier?
__________________
compint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2015, 07:32 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by compint View Post
Has anyone ever replaced their factory horns with something a little more beefier?
Yes mine has aftermarket air horns installed.
__________________
bmurph44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2015, 02:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 31
I also had Dual Hadley's put on mine. I can now compete with a train air horn.

Jaime
__________________
2014 Mirada 35DL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado Crewcab 4x4
2013 Honda CRV
Brake Buddy Stealth
jgallego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2015, 02:31 PM   #7
Member
 
George-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 32
Georgetown Factory Horn Not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
Check the ground connections below the horns on the vertical post.
In the past this ground connection has become bad and needs to be cleaned and reattached.
Here are a few pics that others have posted.


The only other things I can think of is to test the horns by taking a positive 12 vdc to the horn terminal pin and test
Good luck

I removed and cleaned the ground connection(shown in the picture). Horn still did not work.
I then removed the horns and tested them with a 12 Volt battery and both horns worked. Reinstalled the horns and they do not work.
Stumped on what to do next other than take the RV to the Ford dealer($130) just to do the diagnostic.
__________________
George-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2015, 03:44 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Now that you tested every part I think you need to check a few things.
1. With ignition on and you press the steering when horn button does the horn relay active. This will pin point if the problem if between the steering wheel and the relay.


2. If you feel the relay pull in and out then you have to work on the power from the relay to the horns.


This is the way I would proceed to see which side of the circuit has failed.


The steering wheel horn button only controls the ground to the horn relay.


Then at the relay contacts close and gives you 12 volt DC positive to the horn wire.
The horn frame mount is the ground.


Good luck.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 12:44 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,359
Here is a really basic wiring diagram of a horn circuit.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 12:29 PM   #10
Member
 
George-B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 32
Georgetown Factory Horn Not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
Here is a really basic wiring diagram of a horn circuit.

If I am not mistaken, the horn circuit does not involve the ignition switch as the horn functions even with the ignition off. I could see the circuit you provided be one for an auxiliary horn.
I will be tracing the wiring this week. From an online search I did it appears the horn wire is a 16 gauge Yellow with Lt. Green,
__________________

__________________
George-B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
factory, georgetown

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.