Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-31-2016, 05:19 PM   #1
Member
 
cawffeeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 54
GFI - No test/reset button

Does anyone know why the GFI in the outside cargo bay near the entry door doesnít have a reset? Itís a Georgetown 270s and this this the first time I saw this. It says GFI on the receptacle but there isnít a test/rest button on it? If so do you know where it is attached to on the electrical circuit?
__________________

__________________
Cawffeeguy
2015 Georgetown 270s
cawffeeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 05:28 PM   #2
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 20,273
Outlets in series are protected by the GFI at the start of the circuit.

It you trip/test the GFI outlet, that outlet will also be dead. If you test (with a tester) that outlet, the GFI outlet with the reset button on that circuit will trip.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 05:31 PM   #3
rbq
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: West Valley City, Utah
Posts: 302
Check in the bathroom & if there is an outlet near the door check there. All of the GFI's are tied to one that has the test button.
__________________
2001 Chevy Silverado
2011 Rockwood Roo 233S
rbq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 06:12 PM   #4
Member
 
cawffeeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 54
Thanks...it just seemed strange that the one in the cargo would be a GFI without buttons on it. I would have guessed it would have been just like the others on the circuit line. Strange days indeed...
__________________
Cawffeeguy
2015 Georgetown 270s
cawffeeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 09:23 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 244
It's just like the outlets in your kitchen... every outlet AFTER the GFI is protected by the GFI.
__________________
2016 Flagstaff 27VRL with overloaded tires from factory
2015 Chevy Silverado
Paul GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 01:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Full timer,,,at Lake Georgetown in central Texas for the winter.
Posts: 416
In a GFI circuit,,,,there's only one receptacle with the test/reset buttons. There could be several receptacles on the one circuit.....including the outside ones.
__________________
Grampa Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 01:07 PM   #7
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 4,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by cawffeeguy View Post
Thanks...it just seemed strange that the one in the cargo would be a GFI without buttons on it. I would have guessed it would have been just like the others on the circuit line. Strange days indeed...
No, as stated by others -- a GFCI outlet itself will have test/reset buttons but all the outlets downstream which are GFCI protect and may (should) have GFCI stickers on them but will not have test/reset buttons. This is not strange days... this is normal.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49 / '14 = 74 / '15 = 74 / '16 = 85 / '17 = 14; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 01:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 2,906
It has the GFI sticker on it because it is protected by a GFI circuit.

As mentioned, the one with the buttons is upstream somewhere and is the one doing the GFI protecting.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel
Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4
TST Tire Monitor - Sinemate 3500w Gen.
2016 Nights Camped = 46
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 01:11 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 63
The GFCI function can also be contained in a circuit breaker. If so, your circuit breakers will have buttons on them.
__________________
ckabrahamson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 02:38 PM   #10
7 Year Class A RV'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 928
Only the one with the buttons is truly a GFI but all receptacles on that circuit will be protected equally by the single GFI.
__________________

__________________
2015 Legacy SR340 360RB
2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Toad

Gigi, Poppy and Sadie Lady...On the road, but not full time!
conceptumator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.