Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2014, 10:38 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
armye7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 264
Heat strips

I have a 2012 378XL, I saw three units like mine today. On their thermostats they have a setting that says heat strips, my does not have that. I can I tell if our AC units have heat strips in them??


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
armye7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 10:20 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Wherever we are parked!
Posts: 423
Then you don't have heat strips. We have them but never use them. Because you need to have the unit's fan running it's just too much noise for us. We been in the high teens overnight and the fireplace and two of those little ceramic cube heaters work just fine. And it's quite!

P.S. We run an extension cord out the bedroom window to power the cube heater in the bathroom!
__________________

__________________
Lostdog
2011 Georgetown 378TS in FireMist
2013 Jeep Wrangler Toad
Kirby the Old Dog, passed but still in our hearts
Max E. Dog, the new pup
Eureka the Old Cat, still hangin' on
Lostdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 10:25 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
chrisbailey13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 482
Agreed,

You don't have them if it is not on the thermostat. we typically use the furnace, vs the heat strips, the heat is much warmer, and less noisy.
__________________
chrisbailey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 10:40 AM   #4
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
We have them and use them when we leave for the day. Coach stays warm and we don't use propane while we're not on site. When we return we switch the front t-stat back to furnace and the bedroom t-stat to off.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 12:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
tncruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: east tn.
Posts: 416
I run my strips and furnace together for quicker warming ,I set the furnace at a slightly lower temp when the strips cant maintain my desired temp the furnace kicks in the mod required a $11.oo tstat
brianj
__________________
liven life in east TN and wherever my
2011georgetown280ve, and
2016 fordexplorer and hemi RAM
take us
tncruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.