Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2015, 09:04 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Help with Dash Gauges Please!!

Good evening...

I have a 2003 George-Town Class "A" motor-home (Ford FE53 Chassis) that the dash gauges have decided to quit working. Yes, they did but not now....Radio, signal lights, dash-lights (lights inside the dash) are working. I suspect a fuse somewhere since the oil pressure, temp gauge, fuel gauge are NOT working....I have pulled and checked the fuses in the fuse panel under the hood and they all seem to be good according to my Fluke meter...

Can someone please help??

Thanks in advance
Larryd85635
__________________

__________________
larryd85635 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 09:20 AM   #2
Happily Retired Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Munith, Mi
Posts: 178
Not sure if this will help, but most manufactures used a voltage limiter for the dash gauges. It limits the voltage to 5 volts only for the gauges, and is probably on the back of the gauge cluster. if you can, see if you can get to a gauge and check for power. It has been a while since I have worked under a dash so maybe they no longer use a limiter.
__________________

__________________
Mickey & Sue Stamper
2013 GT XL 378TS
Fire Mist

2013 Ford Escape on Landgrebe tow dolly
Mickeystamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 09:44 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 2
Morning!!! Thanks for the response..thought about the voltage limiter not sure what it looks like tho..i know Honda Goldwings had a problem with that too for a while...I will check and see what i can find...
Again, Thanks!!

Larryd
__________________
larryd85635 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 09:50 AM   #4
Happily Retired Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Munith, Mi
Posts: 178
It should be about 1" x 1 1/2" some plugged in to the cluster and some bolted on.
__________________
Mickey & Sue Stamper
2013 GT XL 378TS
Fire Mist

2013 Ford Escape on Landgrebe tow dolly
Mickeystamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 02:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,360
Larry
I think some of the power comes from a fuse panel in the engine compartment behind the air cleaner.
This fuse block is the one that Ford installs on the bare chassis and powers all critical stuff like instrument cluster, oil pressure gauge power, etc.

Being that you have so many power issues I would also check my engine battery ground wire first as well as a fully charged engine battery.

Hope this helps.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 10:08 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
siskom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 120
Das gauges

Also might be a good idea to pull dash cluster( just a few screws) possible plug for cluster is loose
__________________
siskom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 10:50 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Large panel of Ford fuses in panel of firewall just in front of drivers left knee covered with plastic cover. Description and use in Ford chassis manual provided with M/H.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 PM.