Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-05-2016, 01:48 PM   #1

How to Hook Up a Tailgater DISH to my Georgetown 351

I have read as many posts as I can find on hooking up a Tailgater to the Georgetown 351. I have tried all of the recommended hook ups and have come to the conclusion that I am not tech savvy enough to make it work!

My DW and I just returned from Talladega and had to run the cable through a window in order to use our DISH. Needless to say I could only watch our up front TV and had no reception in the rear or outside of the coach. I know I must have separate receivers, but if I could hookup through the existing cabling I could take the receiver to the bedroom or outside.

I would appreciate anyone's advice and suggestions on how to hook the Tailgater up to the existing wiring.

The OldSarge sends regards.
OldSarge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 02:11 PM   #2

I am doing something just like you are.

My King came with RG-6 cable the lite has RG-59 installed.

There is a huge difference between the two so I am now looking to see how hard it would be to fish new RG-6 from the cable connection in my docking station to the inside where the tv is hanging.

I will bypass the splitter as I have only one tv and will likely not use the batwing on the roof.
Old 05-05-2016, 03:26 PM   #3

OldSarge - We have the same coach as you - here is how we have handled it -

We hook the tailgater to the "cable in" that is in the basement area (by the power cord etc) We then have the switch in the front cabinet above the passenger side set to "cable" so it reads the signal from the back - we then connected the switch to the Tailgater receiver.
We used to use the coax built in for the receiver "out" line, which fed directly to the TV's. This worked pretty well, but we lost the hi-def signal because they weren't HDMI cables.