Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2011, 10:47 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Randyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 24
Yes, mine is the same thermostat and I don't have a heat strip in the A\C that the clicking sound comes out of. Here goes: Make sure the Single Zone LCD thermostat is in the Off condition. Press the "+" button and, while holding it, also press and hold the On/Off Mode button for 3 seconds. LCD will show --. Press the On/Off Mode button again to turn system off. This completes the initialization. The furnace On/Off temperature differential should be set at this time.
"Furnace"- Furnace Mode
In the FURNACE mode the system will cycle the RV's furnace On and Off based on the room air temperature and the temperature set-point on the Single Zone LCD thermostat. The system can be configured to operate using an On/Off differential of either 1 degree F or 2 degree F. This feature is programmed during the system initialization. To set the temperature differential the system must be Off. Press the "-" button and, while holding it, also press and hold the On/Off Mode button for three seconds. Release the On/Off Mode button. Then release the "-" button. Press the "+" button to toggle between "d1 and d2", "d1" for 1 degree F differential and "d2" for 2 degrees F differential.

When I did this originally I thought it would be better to have d1 as the setting. I still had the clicking. When I got fed up last weekend listening to the clicking I did the initialization again and this time I set if for d2. Don't know if that did the trick or just redoing the initialization again, but it worked with no more clicks. Hope this helps fix yours as I know what you are going through.
__________________

__________________
Randyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 11:30 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SW Ontario
Posts: 11
Uh oh. omg. I wonder... One of the first things I did was change the differential setting to 1 degree. I thought it would be more comfortable with less of a temperature swing. Thanks for the info and I will definitely try the reset and change back the setting this Friday night.
__________________

__________________
DRPNGOUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 12:47 PM   #13
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
A one degree differential should never be used for any HVAC system. It's too close of a tolerance. It really shouldn't be offered by the manufacturer. With only one degree the system will be on and off too frequently, while burning propane and electricity. I've been in the HVAC field since 1976 and never have heard of a one degree differential until now. 2 degrees is the norm, while 3 to 4 is more commonly used for auto-changeover from Heat to AC. You don't want the system working against itself to maintain a temperature by switching back and forth. Hopefully it solves your clicking issue but still seems strange. Have you called Dometic Technical Service for any help?
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 01:13 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Randyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 24
I spoke with my dealer, (who is 250 miles away) and he spoke with the techs at Dometic. They wanted him to check voltage at the relay thinking it would be low and causing the click. I wasn't ready to make a 500 mile round to have the voltage checked for fear that they would still be at a loss and I would have to return again. I was willing to wait till it quit altogether or I had some other warranty issues to make the trip. I turned to this forum for ideas and may have solved it myself. ( I hope) So far so good.
__________________
Randyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 01:21 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 125
I can safely say that is the world's most confusing thermostat. You would think the lack of buttons would make it easier but it just makes it harder to operate. Just turning the a/c fan to auto when the furnace is on is like programming a VCR. Would a "on/auto" switch killed them?
__________________
brianb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 04:38 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 42
Has anyone ordered this new digital thermostat to replace the analog version. My 2011 came with the old Analog thermostat but I would like to update it to the new digital version. Dometic sells just the thermostat for around $35 (part # 3313192.019) but they are telling me that I need a kit that includes a relay board as the digital thermostat will not work correctly with an analog relay board. Kit is $96 (part #: 3313189.015). In a house you never have to replace a relay board if adding a digital thermostat so this just sounded odd to me. Thought others may know or have done the replacement.

Thanks

Brian
__________________
blightle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 07:51 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 310
Well, don't do it. I have had both ...the digital one does not work nearly as good as the manual one. I have had lots of trouble with the digital ones and the analog ones work much better.
__________________
polkatronron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 05:11 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Question

Hi !
Anyone has a solution for this problem as hi have the same thing appenning to me with the same thermostat but my a/c is Dometic model 57915.751 and I really want the 1 degree differential for my comfort.

Thank you and sorry for my bad english.
__________________
Mistral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 07:22 AM   #19
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistral View Post
Hi !
Anyone has a solution for this problem as hi have the same thing appenning to me with the same thermostat but my a/c is Dometic model 57915.751 and I really want the 1 degree differential for my comfort.

Thank you and sorry for my bad english.
to the Forums. If you check in previous posts there is a kit needed in order for the digital T-stat to operate with an older model AC unit. Most likely this new board provides low voltage to the stat for the digital display as well as maintaining the memory of the t-stat. I don't believe it has battery back-up like most residential digital t-stats. I'd keep the analog t-stat and buy a decent digital thermometer that will read the temperature of the room and adjust your t-stat based on the reading of the thermometer. It would definitely cost less and help you avoid adding problems with the newer digital t-stat.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 04:58 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
I already have the Single Zone Thermostat AND the control box in the A/C, it was in the RV when I got it this spring in april. The RV is new and still on warranty and it curently in service at the dealer but I only wanted to know what was the fix if a fix there is ?

Thank you.
__________________

__________________
Mistral is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 PM.