Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2013, 11:22 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
Intellpower convert inverter hookup

Hi everyone,

I'm thinking about getting a 2k watt inverter for my RV. I was thinking that I might be able to hook it up to the battery connector point since one is free on the converter. When I'm driving down the road I would unplug the AC power from the converter and plug the shoreline power into the inventor. This way the people in the back can power their electronics and run the microwave and coffee maker. The batteries should remain charged because the alternator would be recharging them. Has anyone done something similar to this?
__________________

__________________
vlevesque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 12:09 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 1,414
Not sure which rig you have. Ours came with an inverter from the factory to allow the residential refrigerator to be on while on the road. It has two 110 outputs and only one used for the fridge. When I get a chance I'm going to run wires to allow an ac plug inside the coach (probably in the kitchen area) to be used while on the road. I wouldn't run power hungry items through it though.

Our coach has three batteries. One for the engine, and two for the house side. The two for the house side are the ones that feed the inverter. I'd have to go out and see how it's wired, but I'm not sure the engine's alternator feeds the two house ones. I think those are maintained through a 110v charger that runs on shore or gen power.
__________________

__________________
2014 Georgetown 351DS
-TruCenter -Front/Rear CHF -Hellwig Links -Tiger Trak -Ran McNally GPS -ScanGauge -Truck Systems TPMS -5 Star Tune
alparmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 12:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
jergeod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Central upstate New York
Posts: 258
I do believe that anytime the engine is running all three batteries are being charged.
__________________
George & Jerri
06 GT 340 TSSE
USMC
jergeod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 03:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
raoulwv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlevesque View Post
Hi everyone,

I'm thinking about getting a 2k watt inverter for my RV. I was thinking that I might be able to hook it up to the battery connector point since one is free on the converter. When I'm driving down the road I would unplug the AC power from the converter and plug the shoreline power into the inventor. This way the people in the back can power their electronics and run the microwave and coffee maker. The batteries should remain charged because the alternator would be recharging them. Has anyone done something similar to this?
I'm not sure I understand your post. Are you proposing connecting the output of the converter to the input of the inverter? If so, it won't work. There is no output from the converter unless you're on shore power. Even if there was, a 2000 watt inverter draws 166.6 amps DC. Way more than most converters output. An inverter of that power should be installed directly to the house batteries using 4 gauge or larger cables.
On the other hand, if you are talking about plugging your shore power cable into the output of the inverter, that's also not a very good idea. Way too much current draw from your coach's AC electrical system for a 2k inverter.
I would wire a smaller inverter directly to the house batteries for the electronics and when it's time for the high power items (microwave, coffeemaker), start the generator.
__________________
Rod & Carla B.
The Hounds Kooper & Abby
2015 Sunseeker 3010; '14 Ford Focus toad
raoulwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Gahanna, OH
Posts: 1,414
I just went out and verified with a multimeter that the batteries charge under all conditions (engine running, shore power, or generator). The battery control center takes care of switching between sources. That's good to know because that means that your residential refrigerator will not drain your batteries while on the road.
__________________
2014 Georgetown 351DS
-TruCenter -Front/Rear CHF -Hellwig Links -Tiger Trak -Ran McNally GPS -ScanGauge -Truck Systems TPMS -5 Star Tune
alparmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:19 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
There are two outputs for pos and neg. I'm assuming they are bridged together and not independent. I wouldn't be running the converter but just tapping into the lines coming from the battery. I don't know what gauge wire is coming from the batteries. I have a 2015 335 DS and the house batteries are right below the living are slide out making it difficult to run and cables directly into the coach. I'ld have to run them all the way back to where the converter is now.
__________________
vlevesque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:30 PM   #7
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
Note that a 2 K inverter needs VERY large gauge wire, and if you have that wire gauge from your batteries to the dist box, there should be no problem. I'm guessing that you don't tho.
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:35 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
raoulwv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlevesque View Post
There are two outputs for pos and neg. I'm assuming they are bridged together and not independent. I wouldn't be running the converter but just tapping into the lines coming from the battery. I don't know what gauge wire is coming from the batteries. I have a 2015 335 DS and the house batteries are right below the living are slide out making it difficult to run and cables directly into the coach. I'ld have to run them all the way back to where the converter is now.
I doubt they are large enough gauge. You'll risk burning up the wiring.
I would suggest more research before you try anything.
__________________
Rod & Carla B.
The Hounds Kooper & Abby
2015 Sunseeker 3010; '14 Ford Focus toad
raoulwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:35 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
I'll have to check the size. They might be a 6 or 8 gauge wire. Maybe 1k would be better then. I will just have to shutdown breakers to things I don't need.
__________________
vlevesque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:36 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by raoulwv View Post
I doubt they are large enough gauge. You'll risk burning up the wiring.

I would suggest more research before you try anything.

Yes, I don't want to be a rolling fireball.
__________________

__________________
vlevesque is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 AM.