Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2016, 02:56 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 111
Angry Need help/advice on satellite hookup

I recently purchased the Pathway X2 satellite dish along with a wireless HDMI transmitter. Everything works perfect when I attach the satellite dish directly to the receiver and then to the HDMI wireless transmitter so I know all of the components work correctly.

My problem is trying to set everything up through the cable input.

My coach has the Movie Vision switch installed over the passenger seat. It supposedly controls output from the TV, cable and satellite connections. I know it works on both digital TV and Cable.

On the back of the switch there are connections for:

- TV In
- Cable In
- Aux/Sat In
- Output to TV

My thought was that I would connect the Aux/Satellite input able directly to the satellite receiver and then use the wireless HDMI transmitter to get the picture and sound to the TV. However I cannot seem to get power from the reveiver to the dish using the cable connection in the electrical compartment.

Any advice or suggestions from others who have already installed a portable satellite dish would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Thanks,

rkulbok
(Ron & Karin)
2015 Georgetown 328TS
Full time since October 2015
rkulbok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 07:03 PM   #2
toolman_57
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: National Capital Region
Posts: 129
The aux cable is from the permanent roof mount. The cable connection in the power cable compartment is the one that is connected to the cable input on the switch box. I connect the Sat dish through the cable connection.
__________________

__________________
toolman_57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2016, 07:47 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 111
Thanks. I will give that a try in the morning.
__________________
Thanks,

rkulbok
(Ron & Karin)
2015 Georgetown 328TS
Full time since October 2015
rkulbok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 03:08 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hotsprings, Ar
Posts: 132
In my unit the coax from the roof had been damaged and the dealership replaced it. Also my on air antenna was wired incorrectly.
__________________
db7512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 01:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
BobHanke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 270
The cable between the satellite receiver and outdoor dish serves two purposes. Power is fed from the receiver to the LNB on the dish and the signal comes to the receiver. So that cable must be "clean" (no filters, splitters, etc). If you connect the dish to the Cable In in the basement, you might disconnect from the cable connection on the switch and run it to the dish in on the receiver. Then receiver out to cable in or sat in on the switch box. Perhaps the remote HDMI from the receiver can be used to a second TV.
__________________
"Lurch" = Georgetown 2011 330TS
Jeep 2016 Cherokee
Pilot = Bob
Navigator = Xiangbing
Crew = Shikibu
BobHanke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2016, 04:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 513
I solved the cable/satellite problem by installing an A/B switch (backwards) in the circuit behind the FR installed switchbox. The common of the switch goes to the cable that runs to the rear port, located in the compartment with the electric cord. One side goes to FR's switchbox (cable) while the other (antenna) goes, in my setup, to the power injector for the SWM antenna. If you don't use a SWM antenna, you would hook that cable directly to your satellite box. An A/B switch is a mechanical connector and will pass power through it to the satellite antenna.

The only thing you need to be careful about is switching the A/B switch back to cable BEFORE plugging into a park's cable system. If you forget to do this, you'll be applying voltage that's supposed to go to the dish to the park's cable system which is something you don't want to do.

Phil
__________________
pmsherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2016, 11:13 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: El Paso TX
Posts: 21
Tailgater

I Use a dish tailgater antenna for when I am camping where there is a lot of trees covering a clean feed to the south. To solve my problem about feeding the coaxial cable from antenna to receiver I installed another cable to the location of the manufacture's cable feed to the location where I mounted the receiver. Cable in runs through switch which also amplifies OTA antenna signal.

Works great for me.. When not using it I have an in motion antenna that I use mounted on top of motor coach.

Hope this helps.
__________________
bmaggin1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2016, 11:13 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 153
rkulbok - you are asking my question. I have to figure out how to hook up my dish receiver with my Pathway 2 dish. I don't have to he connections straight in my head that I have just read. I do remember looking at the with box above the Passenger seat in the cabinet. I am sure one of those feeds is from the Sat connection on the roof and the other from the Park cable - thinking I may use park cable as the work around for now - not wanting to permanently mount anything on the roof yet.

Excellent use case for Wireless HDMI - my tv is mid-ship above kitchen sink on passenger side.

Purchasing/picking up 2016 XL 350TS tomorrow.
__________________
Mickey Alberto
2016 Forest River Georgetown XL 350TS
Ford V-10 (5-Star Tuned)
cmalberto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 09:19 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 111
cmalberto - After getting advice from other board members I simply attached the cable input from the switch, in the overhead passenger compartment, to the satellite input in the reveiver and I am using a wireless HDMI transmitter to get the picture and sound to the TV. So far everything is working fine.

With this set I am limited to having satellite on only 1 TV at a time but, since it is only my wife and I don't think it will be a big issue.

Good luck with you new MH.
__________________
Thanks,

rkulbok
(Ron & Karin)
2015 Georgetown 328TS
Full time since October 2015
rkulbok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 11:44 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkulbok View Post
cmalberto - After getting advice from other board members I simply attached the cable input from the switch, in the overhead passenger compartment, to the satellite input in the reveiver and I am using a wireless HDMI transmitter to get the picture and sound to the TV. So far everything is working fine.

With this set I am limited to having satellite on only 1 TV at a time but, since it is only my wife and I don't think it will be a big issue.

Good luck with you new MH.
Check your wireless system to see if it supports multiple receivers. Mine does and I can watch the same show on both televisions at the same time.

Phil
__________________

__________________
pmsherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.