Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2013, 11:14 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by gljurczyk View Post
If you have a extra receiver at home, all you need is the dish. It will cost you nothing extra, I have direct tv dish and just take the bedroom reciever with me and plug it in if you want local stations just use your RV antenna for that. In the set up mode it will ask what your zip code is where you are and then it will give you all the settings. It's that easy. I have never heard of anything being illegal anywhere you do not need the DTV mobile at all.......Just make sure you turn off the amp at the wall connection......
X2
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 01:35 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Newellri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 280
For dish I pay for 3 unit ( 5 bucks a mo.) and have a winegard unit on the roof. This is the same as the portable but with a fixed mount. It uses both satellites but is a bit nosy when changing channels, other wise it works good. This is the 700.00 unit. The problem for us was how the coax worked, or in my case did not work. All seems to be good now.
__________________

__________________
Newellri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 07:00 PM   #13
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Since you already have DirecTV at home you'll just be adding a receiver. If you decide on Dish Newtwork then you'll be paying for two services or need to change to Dish at home to keep the RV unit price low. As stated earlier by Newellri about getting the unit pinged after inactivity. The same goes for DirecTV. You can go on-line to their website and ping it yourself without getting anyone involved. It's amazing how quick it responds. I generally do it each March after it has sat for a couple months.
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 07:34 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Posts: 357
As far as the cable, I to had poor reception. I was inspecting the 50' cable I hook to the park cable connector, and discovered the fitting connecting the terminal to the cable was crimped really hard (excessively). Rather than fool with replacing it, I bought a new one at Camping World for twenty bucks and WALA! crystal clear picture.

Happy Trails, Forrest
__________________
Happy Trails
fbconsults
(Forrest and Donna)
2011 Georgetown 378TS
2011 Ford Escape V-6 4X4
fbconsults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 09:47 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 166
Thanks all!

Called Directv and they said I could just use a box from home and buy a satellite dish and just hook it up for no charge.

Haven't tried asking neighbors yet about their cable reception. I think it might be park reception. Got an almost clear channel but some channels are total junk. Won't know if it's this park until we go to another one. This location is not close to a big city. Will have to test this out when we take the MH to a few more places. I did notice the cable connection in the power stand was very loose.
__________________
Lvnlife1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 10:02 AM   #16
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lvnlife1973 View Post
Thanks all!

Called Directv and they said I could just use a box from home and buy a satellite dish and just hook it up for no charge.

Haven't tried asking neighbors yet about their cable reception. I think it might be park reception. Got an almost clear channel but some channels are total junk. Won't know if it's this park until we go to another one. This location is not close to a big city. Will have to test this out when we take the MH to a few more places. I did notice the cable connection in the power stand was very loose.
Might just be the connection from your cable to the campground plug. We had one with terrible reception, after pushing the cable in a couple times and wire brushing off the threads the reception was great. Oxidation of the campground's side was the problem. Most of these set-ups are just outside with no protection and just don't stand up to the weather very good. Just another possibility!
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:30 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 166
Help again?

So where do most of you put your satellite tv box? The TV is in the middle of the MH and the cable connections are up in the front above thr dashboard. I was going to put the receiver box up in the front but then I realize I can't connect it to the TV! Wish they made it easier!
__________________
Lvnlife1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 08:43 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Posts: 357
I put mine in the middle compartment next to the surround sound and cable switcher box. When it was installed, an AB switch was put in that allowed the tv to be switched from satellite to cable. That way you use the existing cables to the tv. If you are not handy with that sort of stuff, Best Buy or some other installer can do it for you, it's pretty easy if you know how.

Happy Trails, Forrest
__________________
Happy Trails
fbconsults
(Forrest and Donna)
2011 Georgetown 378TS
2011 Ford Escape V-6 4X4
fbconsults is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 09:39 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 166
I consider myself handy with electronics. Just assembled the dish. What I'm trying to figure out is how to connect this box. I have the selector box up here that you can toggle between cable/sat/antenna......trying to figure out how to connect box to this? Let me think about it.
__________________
Lvnlife1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 10:01 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Apple Valley, CA
Posts: 357
The installer had to add a A/B switch on top of the selector box you are talking about.

Happy Trails and good luck, Forrest
__________________

__________________
Happy Trails
fbconsults
(Forrest and Donna)
2011 Georgetown 378TS
2011 Ford Escape V-6 4X4
fbconsults is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40 AM.