Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-26-2018, 07:42 AM   #1

Need power to my TOAD from the coach

I have a Chev Spark and GM just changed the flat tow requirements; so I now need to get 12 volts to the car from the coach. Essentially my question is what is the best way to do that? I am wondering if the tow wiring has continuous 12 Volt source I can tap into?

Thanks
Old 09-26-2018, 08:45 AM   #2

Since this is a Georgetown forum, I assume that you have a Georgetown RV. Don't know what year or what length. However, I believe that you will find 12 volts already present on the 7 way connector on the coach. On my 2015, it is always present. Suggest at least a 20 amp circuit breaker on the TOAD side.

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 08:51 AM   #3

Thanks, yes I have a Georgetown, just over a year old; so I am still learning things about it. I should have done a Google search before posting. Now I need to check if the brake light connection system I purchased, but am not using yet, is the 7 way connection. Good advice about the inline fuse. Thanks
Old 09-26-2018, 08:57 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordalder View Post
Thanks, yes I have a Georgetown, just over a year old; so I am still learning things about it. I should have done a Google search before posting. Now I need to check if the brake light connection system I purchased, but am not using yet, is the 7 way connection. Good advice about the inline fuse. Thanks
If you like to leave it connected, a high current diode wouldn't hurt either, but is not absolutely necessary. I think the GM has abandoned fuse removal and recommends charging, their circuitry draws a lot of power when left on and will kill most batteries after a while.

2015 335DS
Old 09-26-2018, 09:13 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottBrownstein View Post