Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2014, 08:01 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
chrisbailey13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 482
No 12v outlet

I have a question that is probably pretty simple, but I can't figure it out. My 12v outlet in the dash doesn't work. I checked the fuse in the engine compartment and it is good. Any ideas?

On a side note, I took the dash out to see if the 12v had come loose, or if there was an inline fuse that may have b!own. While I was in there I found out my unit has a satellite tuner that wasn't plugged into the head unit. The ends where taped together but not plugged into each other.

Quality at its best
__________________

__________________
2014 Georgetown XL 352QS
2013-2017 Days Camped-215
chrisbailey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 08:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 49
There could be a fuse holder in one of the legs of the 12V outlet under the dash or wherever the wiring is behind the outlet. My outline has such a fuse holder under the dash very close to the back of the outlet where the wires connect to it.



Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
scivilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 08:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbailey13 View Post
I have a question that is probably pretty simple, but I can't figure it out. My 12v outlet in the dash doesn't work. I checked the fuse in the engine compartment and it is good. Any ideas?

On a side note, I took the dash out to see if the 12v had come loose, or if there was an inline fuse that may have b!own. While I was in there I found out my unit has a satellite tuner that wasn't plugged into the head unit. The ends where taped together but not plugged into each other.

Quality at its best
Have you checked the fuses inside under the dash to the left of the steering wheel?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	109
Size:	176.4 KB
ID:	65911  
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 08:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
chrisbailey13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 482
Iggy, that would be too easy, I didnt see the outlet on the "legend" for that panel in the manual, so I didn't even look down there.

I will check tomorrow
__________________
2014 Georgetown XL 352QS
2013-2017 Days Camped-215
chrisbailey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 08:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
chrisbailey13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by scivilla View Post
There could be a fuse holder in one of the legs of the 12V outlet under the dash or wherever the wiring is behind the outlet. My outline has such a fuse holder under the dash very close to the back of the outlet where the wires connect to it.



Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
I checked that when I took the console dash off, didn't see one, but I will check again on my next tinker session,
__________________
2014 Georgetown XL 352QS
2013-2017 Days Camped-215
chrisbailey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 08:47 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbailey13 View Post
I checked that when I took the console dash off, didn't see one, but I will check again on my next tinker session,
It has a black plastic over it that pops off.
Check Fuse #17 it is a brown 5 amp
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	86
Size:	169.2 KB
ID:	65912  
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 09:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 49
I also would not assume that the outlet itself is working. Check to see if you have voltage at the terminals (back) of the outlet. If you have voltage there and the outlet does not work either the outlet is bad or it is possible the plug is not making good contact.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
scivilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2014, 09:12 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
camaraderie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,721
Chris this is probably WAY too simplistic...but if you tested the outlet by plugging something in:
1. Thr plugs themselves often have internal fuses...so be sure the item you plugged in works in other outlets or check the fuse.
2. The key position in the ignition could be off for the outlet.
__________________

__________________
________
Cam
2015 Georgetown 280DS
2014 Vespa LX150 2014 StellaAuto 125
camaraderie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electrical

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13 AM.