Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2016, 12:31 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 260
Progressive industries 50amp EMS

I got through installing my Progressive Industries 50 Amp Electrical Management System and what a pain that 50 amp chord is to work with. I finally got all the wires into the slots and tightened down but not without fighting with them. They sure don't like to bend very easy when they are short length in tight spaces. System works great. I mounted the display on the inside of the compartment door where it is easy to read when you plug in the 50 amp chord.
__________________

__________________
Georgetown XL 377TS
USAF-- CMSGT Retired.
georgew48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 03:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
360true's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 379
That is why a 50 amp is nicknamed "the anaconda"!
__________________

__________________
360true is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2016, 03:49 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 260
Being that it was still cold this morning didn't help. I should have waited until this afternoon when it was in the 60's.
__________________
Georgetown XL 377TS
USAF-- CMSGT Retired.
georgew48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 06:14 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Atlanta Area
Posts: 118
It is a beast to work with especially leaning into that rear compartment.

Congrats on the install


Mr. G


2015 Forest River Georgetown 351DS
__________________
MrGrmpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2016, 08:58 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
HONDAMAN174's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Big brown desert
Posts: 2,318
Progressive reminded me to check those connections for tightness every few months. FYI.


2014 Evo 2850 "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra "Clifford"
__________________
2014 Stealth Evo 2850- "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra Rock Crawler TRD 5.7- "Clifford"
2013 Honda Accord Coupe V6 w/Track Pack- "Julia"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 08:35 AM   #6
toolman_57
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: National Capital Region
Posts: 129
I forgot to mention in my post to the 364ts mods thread, but the progressive industries 50amp protector (hardwired) was my first mod. Yes, it was a bear to wrestle with the wires. I broke a component on the circuit card during the process. I called tech support and told them that I broke it and asked them what I needed to do to fix it. The person on the phone just laughed and said no one ever owns up to this. They sent me a new card free of charge and I sent the broken card back to them. I'm a big fan! Also, the thing does its job--based on the readings at one of the campgrounds I used (30 amp when they promised 50), I was able to help the park owners fix their problem with the service.
__________________
toolman_57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 08:57 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
360true's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 379
I have the 50 amp portable. I use it to check the power as Soon as I pull into a site before anything else. In one rural county horse camp I had to check three separate sites in order to find clean power that was wired properly (reverse neutrals).
__________________
360true is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 09:13 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,018
Quote:
Originally Posted by 360true View Post
I have the 50 amp portable. I use it to check the power as Soon as I pull into a site before anything else. In one rural county horse camp I had to check three separate sites in order to find clean power that was wired properly (reverse neutrals).
This is my way of thinking also! CHECK Power Center BEFORE pulling in! I dont care what kind of "Protection" your unit has,if the Site/C/G has "Poopy Power" Do NOT use it! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 02:51 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
360true's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 379
2x
__________________
360true is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 03:41 PM   #10
7 Year Class A RV'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,038
I took a lead from someone else on the forum when I install the EMS in my Legacy. Bought two 50A range cords and two 50A range outlets. Disconnected the shore line at the ATS, then wired back into the ATS with one if the range cords. Took the shore cord and put one of the outlets on the end of it. Then used the second range cord on the shore side of the EMS and, using a piece of extra cable from one if the range cords, wired the other outlet on the coach side of the EMS. Plug it all in and your ready to go. If there's a problem with the EMS, you can remove and bypass it (without opening the EMS case). Also, you can easily remove the entire shore cord if needed. Pretty slick if I may say so myself. Got everything (EMS, range cords and outlets) from Amazon.
__________________

__________________
2015 Legacy SR340 360RB
2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Toad

Gigi, Poppy and Sadie Lady...On the road, but not full time!
conceptumator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.