Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2016, 09:34 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolman_57 View Post
When you do this do you lose your local programming at home?
Yes you do and it can be a problem... if your DVR at home is set to record your favorite local programs while you're gone.

Or you have a house sitter while you're gone, they lose the local channels.
__________________

__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 12:42 PM   #22
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: jacksonville,fl.
Posts: 28
I use Dish pay as you go and get everything and in HD
__________________

__________________
k4lp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:03 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
NCBBA11043's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Ohio
Posts: 135
One Key Point

If you have a DISH account, and you add the RV receiver to your account, any changes you make to your programming will effect ALL receivers. Found this out the hard way. We had all of our favorite programs programmed to record while we were away, including locals. Got to our destination, called DISH and had local channels changed to our location. Got home . . . none of our local programs recorded. The home receiver was set to receive locals from our campground location!!! That's the disadvantage - the advantage is that it only cost $7/mo. to add the RV receiver and you can turn on/off monthly or seasonally. Otherwise, it's full price for a separate account just for the RV (not worth it for us). And I HIGHLY recommend the Pathway X2 as mentioned earlier - larger antenna and works with east and west satellites.
__________________
NCBBA11043 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:13 PM   #24
Retired Ford Tech
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Full-Timer
Posts: 141
We are Full-Timers and have Direct TV. We winter in Casa Grande AZ for 6 months. Our home address is Sequim WA. We have family on the East Coast in Georgia and Pennsylvania. When we move from place to place, I call Direct TV and tell them to change my SERVICE address. We get the local channels of the area we're at.We still get the West coast feed from Los Angeles, because our home address is on the West coast.
We're happy with Direct.
__________________
rvpezzano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:23 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvpezzano View Post
We still get the West coast feed from Los Angeles, because our home address is on the West coast.
We're happy with Direct.
No actually you still get the west coast channels since some of the early local channels are on the main satellite which does not support spot beams. I believe that Tampa and possibly metropolitan New York are still there as well. This also allows DirecTV to give local channels to customers who are out of reach of any local channels, which is also FCC regulation.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:24 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Telstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 308
We have DISH with King Dome and love it. I call them and give the new zip code and minutes latter we have the local channels for sheer we are. If trees block the dome and I need to setup the tripod dish I use their DISH for my RV app on my iPhone for easy setup. All In HD as supposed to Direct TV only being available in SD. You will have to have your Kong Dome reprogrammed for DISH.
__________________
Gary and Donna
2005 Cardinal 33TS-LX
Trail Air pin box
Center Point suspension
2005 F-350 6.0 psd CC SRW
PullRite Super 5th
Telstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 01:57 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 539
I have both Dish Trav'ler on roof and the manual Winegard antennae that came with my RV. I call Dish with my location or else if I'm too tired to bother calling that night and setting the signal, I just crank up my antennae and see what local channels it will p/u.
__________________
mtnlvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 04:54 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
dan-nickie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCBBA11043 View Post
If you have a DISH account, and you add the RV receiver to your account, any changes you make to your programming will effect ALL receivers. Found this out the hard way. We had all of our favorite programs programmed to record while we were away, including locals. Got to our destination, called DISH and had local channels changed to our location. Got home . . . none of our local programs recorded. The home receiver was set to receive locals from our campground location!!! That's the disadvantage - the advantage is that it only cost $7/mo. to add the RV receiver and you can turn on/off monthly or seasonally. Otherwise, it's full price for a separate account just for the RV (not worth it for us). And I HIGHLY recommend the Pathway X2 as mentioned earlier - larger antenna and works with east and west satellites.
I know. Mama was pissed when we got home and Dancing with the Stars wasn't recorded
__________________
Dan
2014 Berkshire 390RB-60
dan-nickie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 05:03 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
nomad297's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by rvpezzano View Post
We are Full-Timers and have Direct TV. We winter in Casa Grande AZ for 6 months. Our home address is Sequim WA. We have family on the East Coast in Georgia and Pennsylvania. When we move from place to place, I call Direct TV and tell them to change my SERVICE address. We get the local channels of the area we're at.We still get the West coast feed from Los Angeles, because our home address is on the West coast.
We're happy with Direct.
X2, except for the places you go.

Bruce
__________________
2016 Rockwood Windjammer 3029W Diamond
2015 Chevy 3500HD LTZ 6.0 Crew Cab 4x4 Long Bed 4.10:1 SRW
nomad297 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 09:20 PM   #30
Jack of All Trades
 
RJHuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fletcher, Ohio
Posts: 265
One thing to remember with the automatic antennas - like the Pathway X2 that I have.

While they support two receivers, the master receiver controls which satellite is being looked at. If the channels you want on both receivers are on the same satelite, no problem, you can tune them in. But if the channels you want are on different satellites, you are out of luck as the antenna will be pointed at the satillite the master receiver's channel is tuned to, the slave receiver will receive nothing.

Not a big deal until you want to watch a local channel, which are generally on a different satelite than the majority of the main channels, and the better half wants to watch "Hording Buried Alive".

Our solution was to buy the OTA adapters and use the over the air antenna for local channels.

Rick
__________________

__________________
Rick & Debbie; Brandy & Schnoodle (Dexter & Fritz R.I.P.) the Doxie "Kids"
2015 Jayco Pinnacle 36RSQS 5'er
2018 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD, 6.6L Diesel Dually; B&W Companion 5'er hitch
ScanGauge, TST 507 TPMS
RJHuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 AM.