Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2014, 06:10 PM   #1
gspage53
 
gspage53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Woodville, AL
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to gspage53
Running Both AC on 351DS

I'm a Computer Scientist and know nothing about electrical engineering. We're in a state park with only 30 amp service. I can run one AC full bore and the other on FAN and still run the satellite tv, DVD players etc. What are the max amp that one AC draws and can you run both AC if you minimize all other electricity to sleep at night? I would rather not run the genny at night because of the noise.


Stan and Patti
2014 Georgetown 351DS
__________________

__________________
gspage53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 07:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
43D18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 261
I can say with confidence that you can only run one AC at a time on 30 amp service. We have the exact same coach, and while we choose 50 amp service whenever it's available, it's rare that we really *need* both ac's running at the same time, particularly at night. Both AC's share the same ducting system so if you have the fan running on one, and the AC on the other, you should get very good air circulation and keep the entire coach comfortable.
__________________

__________________
Mike & Suz
2014 Georgetown 351
Pontiac Vibe toad
Buck & Patsy, the boston-mix guard dogs
43D18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 07:46 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 49
A 13,500 will draw around 12 amps running but startup amps are more and will spike--probably around 15 or more. Thus on 30 amp service if you have any other electrical draw you don't have enough amperage to run two ac units for any length of time.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
scivilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 07:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
43D18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 261
Quote:
Originally Posted by scivilla View Post
A 13,500 will draw around 12 amps running but startup amps are more and will spike--probably around 15 or more. Thus on 30 amp service if you have any other electrical draw you don't have enough amperage to run two ac units for any length of time.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
x2 What he said! ^
__________________
Mike & Suz
2014 Georgetown 351
Pontiac Vibe toad
Buck & Patsy, the boston-mix guard dogs
43D18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 10:58 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
chrisbailey13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 482
I can typically run my Forward AC at night and get plenty of air to be comfortable in the rear of the coach at night, and that's in FL heat. especially, if you keep the coach at a reasonable temp throughout the day.
__________________
chrisbailey13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 04:46 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 53
Don't mean to hijack the thread, but somewhat in the same subject matter. I have the 351DS and I sometimes I'm successful in running both AC off the generator. Sometimes it would run only a little before it trips the breaker on the generator. Do I assume there's not enough power to run both at the same time from the generator?
__________________
sithc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 06:54 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Krazymace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sunriver, Oregon
Posts: 502
Generator should run both AC's.


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Krazymace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 07:01 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
This should help you tremendously.
normal appliance amp draws

TURBS

"SABRE OWNERS UNITED"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 07:03 PM   #9
gspage53
 
gspage53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Woodville, AL
Posts: 76
Send a message via Yahoo to gspage53
Agreed, mine does run both AC with the gen on. The only thing that bugs my wife when we have the AC's on is I have to plug her Keurig into the aux 120 outlet that most sites have. It and the microwave sometimes sends me hunting for the breakers. But when you are up in the mountains and its dead quiet, the gen does make a bunch of noise.


Stan and Patti
2014 Georgetown 351DS
__________________
gspage53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 08:05 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
cjd10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 481
I have no problem running both AC's off the generator. Microwave will run also but don't know that I have ever tried microwave and coffee maker at the same time.

When you say it trips the breaker on the generator, does that shut down both AC's? I'm pretty sure one breaker is for one AC and the other for the 2nd.
__________________

__________________
2014 Georgetown 351DS

Charleston SC
3 Boston Terriers, 1 Frenchie
Gonna miss you Toby. RIP
cjd10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.