Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2009, 12:18 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seal Beach, Ca.
Posts: 171
Running the Generator

Ok, I've done this before but just can't remember....I'm a liveaboard that is hooked up to shore power. I need to periodically run my generator. Do I need to disconnect from shore power when i do this or just stay connected to shower power. Do I need to shut off any circuit breakers?

The generator manual just says to shut off the AC or major appliances.

I think I've done this hooked up to shower power before but just not sure and want to make sure I don't hurt anything.

Please help. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
georgetown50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 03:42 PM   #2
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
You can stay plugged in. You're just exercising the generator. There will be no load on it since you're still plugged in. My invertor has a setting to exercise the generator automatically every 30 days or so and it runs for about 30 minutes. I'm plugged in the whole time but I don't have any major appliances running. It has no effect on the charger side of the invertor when it's running with shorepower.
__________________

__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2009, 07:50 PM   #3
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,315
In order to exercize a generator it really needs to have some load on it. if your inverter is as cfoistman's and has a generator exercize mode then unhooking from shore power shouldn't be required. I'm sure the inverter puts some load on it. If you have to do it manually I'd shut everything off and start the genny then run the A/C for a little while.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 05:13 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Seal Beach, Ca.
Posts: 171
Ok, and you just need to run it for about 30 minutes?
__________________
georgetown50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2009, 07:49 AM   #5
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 4,315
Right, That's long enough to get the engine up to operating temp and drive off any moisture that's accumulated. It's also long enough to get the genny end up to temp too. Spreads the lube around and all kinds of good stuff.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 PM.